Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 10, 2008

Toile Addition To The Kitchen

Img_2614

Remember the other day I was showing you my kitchen and saying I wanted to do something with the shelf sitting on the sewing machine table? Well, yesterday afternoon I decided to do it.

I had some yards of decorator toile fabric I’d purchased at Hobby Lobby on sale months ago.

Img_2613

So I got out some fabric glue spray and went to town! I told myself it was just like making quilts. Just measure and cut.

Img_2611

I probably should have painted the shelf white or cream first. But my asthma has been bad lately, so felt I was pressing my luck with the fabric glue spray alone! If I paint it, it will have to be in the fall.

Img_2607

I unscrewed the chair bottoms from the chair, laid my chair cushion over the toile fabric, and left enough all around when I cut it to bring to the back to staple. I just used one of those cheap Hobby Lobby staplers you get for such projects. I’d used it last year to reupholster some outdoor chairs.

So this is the result. For now anyway!

Img_2604

Responses

  1. Adorable. You did a great job!

  2. You did a great job!!!(-: I know that spray glue is pretty strong smelling especially when you have asthma. Hope you are o.k.(-:

  3. What a nice finishing touch. I think the shelf will look really nice in a creamy white color.

  4. I love it Brenda! My two cents on the shelf ….paint it black. I think it would be a real stand out against your lovely wall color and tie in the other dark colors in your room. Don’t you just hate people giving advice when they don’t ask for it! Ha! Love ya girl! Rosie

  5. I love it Brenda! My two cents on the shelf ….paint it black. I think it would be a real stand out against your lovely wall color and tie in the other dark colors in your room. Don’t you just hate people giving advice when they don’t ask for it! Ha! Love ya girl! Rosie

  6. I love it Brenda! My two cents on the shelf ….paint it black. I think it would be a real stand out against your lovely wall color and tie in the other dark colors in your room. Don’t you just hate people giving advice when they don’t ask for it! Ha! Love ya girl! Rosie

  7. It looks lovely Brenda!

  8. That was worth braving an asthma attack for! lovely!!

    Have you tried another kind of glue, instead of areosole??

  9. Brenda, I love what you did! What a great place to sit and have coffee.

  10. Brenda, I love what you did! What a great place to sit and have coffee.

  11. Brenda, I love what you did! What a great place to sit and have coffee.

  12. Great job, Brenda — love the fabric and the idea of putting it in the shelving unit! Very country chic!

  13. Looks wonderful, Brenda. Isn’t it great when a little fabric and a few staples can change the look of a table and chairs. An easy update and fun!

  14. It’s a lovely transformation, Brenda. You did great! 🙂

  15. That looks great! i know someone that is planning to paint a kitchenette set black and looking for fabric…I’ll have to tell her about yours!

    And to answer your question, I did change the header about a week or so ago!
    Diand

  16. When money permits (shortly after hell freezes over, I’m sure), I am going to remodel my kitchen. Before I find a contractor, I am going to call on you for help with my design. I love your coffee bar! The toile is perfect!

  17. I love the toile in the shelf and on the chair seats. It makes me feel like it would be such fun sitting at the table in that pretty room. Love it..

    Gretchen

  18. So pretty what you did Brenda. I love red toile..I love toile period. If you want to read a hysterical pink Saturday post go the The Stone Rabbit. She is on my sidebar. I fell in the floor laughing at her post. ~ Lynn

  19. I love toile! I have black and white toile wallpaper on a small wall in my kitchen.

  20. Brenda, you have my favorite colors in your kitchen! And I love toile too! You did a beautiful job. I also like your coffee nook. I can smell it brewing now! 😉
    Diane

  21. Have you seen the toile an artist came up with in the last year? Instead of having pastoral scenes as a motif, the small vignettes on the fabric are homeless people. (I think I saw it on Craftzine.)

  22. Neato-and easy to change if you chose to later-I like that fabric:)

  23. Hi Brenda 🙂

    I love it!! I’m about to try the chair thing myself for the first time. You’ve made me feel better about it 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  24. Hi Brenda, Thank you so much for visiting. I think you could grow some wheatgrass for your cat.
    Your toile project looks really great. I love toile. It is elegant and still has this french charm. It is nice to change things around from time to time, even a new set of duvet covers in toile is nice!

  25. Morning, Brenda! I love what you’ve done in your kitchen. The chair seats look so nice with the black metal and your little shelf. I did this same thing – spray and stick to the back of my little hutch in the breakfast room. I also have a very similar toile print in my sun porch – used it on my butterfly valances and made lots of pillows. I love toile and you’ve used it beautifully.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  26. Look what I’ve missed! Wow, you didn’t waste any time at all working on that small bookshelf and the chairs! It really turned out great. I am a big fan of toile also. We are kindreds! I just bought a new couch and I’m going to sew toile pillows. I just don’t care about pillows that go with it.

    Great job, Brenda! Loved everything you did!

  27. I, too, hope you are doing okay after the spray glue. What beauty you created! I just love toile print– even if I cannot pronounce it. 🙂 You inspire me.

  28. very cute. I have been wanting to try to reupholster some chairs but haven’t gotten around to doing it. They look great… & the shelf too. xoxo, Joanna PS. I love the print on the material also.


Leave a Reply

Categories

