Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 8, 2008

The Lovely Rain

Img_2526

And what, you must be asking yourself, is that photo supposed to be signifying? It is rain, folks!

Img_2527

Glorious, yes, I’m-showing-unbridled-joy rain!

Img_2530_2

It is Friday morning, and it is dark. I am sitting here writing to you in my garden room. Listening to the pitter-patter of little raindrop feet on my roof!

Img_2533

Of course, I can’t venture beyond the courtyard gazebo, because I don’t want to ruin my beloved camera. But look how shiny the planters are. The gourd, reflecting light on it’s rain-slicked surface.

Img_2534

The neighbors are all staying inside, or at least out of the elements on their back porches. All like me, I’m sure, enjoying the sight and sound of Mother Nature blessing us with moisture for our gardens. 

Img_2535

The plants are giddy with relief, as am I!

Img_2536

"Lovely! See the cloud, the cloud appear! Lovely! See the rain, the rain draw near! Who spoke? It was the little corn ear. High on the tip of the stalk." – Anonymous Author

Img_2538

Rain has been scant in the past months around these here parts. So this is a most joyous occasion indeed!

Img_2539

"It rains softly on the town." Arthur Rimbaud

Responses

  1. Lucky, lucky you. Could you send some our way? lol I love the way the garden looks when it’s raining. I bet yours is rejoicing!

  2. When the rain is through visiting you, head it toward the west, please! We got 2 little showers earlier in the week, but it’s so dry here, I’m spittin’ dust again. I absolutely love the little table you made with the glass topping an old crock. I have 2 old crocks, one I use much the same way, as an occasional table beside my recliner, the other we use as an umbrella/cane stand. I’ll have to remember to post those photos sometime for you to see.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. It’s raining here, too and I can hear thunders. Oh, how I love the rain! It always brings back old childhood memories…catching frogs after the rain stopped.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Hi Brenda,
    We had a great shower last night…if fact I had left the house and got caught in it! Thought I was going to have to pull over!

    Your garden is so pretty in all the pictures you have posted! But it looks especially peaceful, green, lush when it is wet!
    Have a great day,
    Diane

  5. So glad you got rain! I love rain. I will drop what I am doing and run onto the back porch just to listen to it. I always say I hear my plants sighing in a rain induced ecstasy!

  6. So glad you got rain! I love rain. I will drop what I am doing and run onto the back porch just to listen to it. I always say I hear my plants sighing in a rain induced ecstasy!

  7. So glad you got rain! I love rain. I will drop what I am doing and run onto the back porch just to listen to it. I always say I hear my plants sighing in a rain induced ecstasy!

  8. Congratulations on the rain! All around us got rain, buckets of it, and we got nothin’. Well, shoot. 🙂

  9. Can’t remember what state you’re in but I’m glad you got some rain. It’s just starting to get a little dry in my part of VA. Lakes are still up okay, but it’s been a couple of weeks since we’ve had rain.

  10. I love how you captured the rain…really!

    Hope you have a good weekend.
    *hugs*

  11. Hi Brenda, I just wrote you a long post and I don’t see it. Shoot! Now I don’t want to type it again. 😦 So here’s the abbreviated version – glad you got rain, thanks for coming to my tea and I have lots of furniture for storeing my pretties. lol
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  12. Lucky you, to get some lovely rain! I wish we’d get a bit of it – an old-fashioned midwestern type storm would be just the thing on this hot summer day!

    Thank you for the Brillante award! You’re very sweet to think of me!

    xoJill

  13. Could you send some just a little west? We only got a few sprinkles this morning. Glad you got wet.

  14. We received wonderful soaking rain til about 3pm. Then I had to go out and soak it up myself! Thank you for the wet wonderland views!

  15. I am so jealous. I want it to rain so bad here. I am counting the days till Fall and hopefully the first rain!!! Its beyond dry here. I am ready for a huge big down pour of rain!!!(-:

  16. I know how you feel, Brenda. We have had a few days of much needed rain, too. It is nice to get a break from watering the garden. With our hot temperatures, it is usually a daily chore.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  17. Hi Brenda 🙂

    We need rain too! We had a little the other day, but it wasn’t near enough. It is cooler here though and that in itself is a blessing. I really don’t like summer, especially now that I’m past my bikini strolling days LOL

    Speaking of…. you liked the kilt winner didn’t you?! 😉

    hugs,
    rue

  18. Hi Brenda, so glad you’re getting some much-needed rain. Everything is looking refreshed and renewed. Don’t you just love how green and lovely everything looks in the rain! I thought I heard your garden singing as I was taking the tour with you!

    It’s cool and overcast here today, with rain in the forecast. I just looked at the radar though, and it looks like it’s slipping just south of us. As I’m typing this, the sun has come out from behind the clouds for the first time all day. We’ve been very lucky to have had rain about weekly all summer long.

    I hope you’re having a great weekend!

  19. Glad to hear you got some much needed rain. It has rained all around us here and we need some of the wet stuff also.
    Lona

  20. Hi Brenda, what a lovely rainy day in your beautiful garden. I love a dark rainy day and I love to come out and explore the garden after a good rain. The plants are always so happy after a good soak! xo, suzy

  21. Hi Brenday and thanks for popping in to see my pink plate rims. The oddest thing. I clicked on your name to reply a couple of times and a typepad page would pop up with shopping etc. stuff on it. Then I went to my side bar clicked on it and I’m here. Wonder what that is all about?
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  22. We got some of that, too, Brenda, and are getting more of it today. Not only is it turning our lawns green again overnight, but it brings cooler temperatures, at least as long as it’s raining. I’m loving it!

  23. Brenda,

    I’m thrilled that you finally got some rain. Your garden even looks nicer with the rain falling down.

    Gretchen

  24. I’m glad you got a nice gentle rain not the 60 mph rain we got a week ago. I know your plants are lovin it.

    Gretchen

  25. I’m sure your garden was sighing with relief. How I envy you that rain! Austin is parched. But I’m glad you got a break, Brenda.


Leave a Reply

Categories

