Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 4, 2008

Texture, This And That…

Img_1910

Isn’t this a silly thing to have? This spider web I bought years ago at an art gallery, of all places. And it hangs from a tree out in my yard.

I just love the texture of plants. This aloe vera has grown and made many babies for me to give away. Nothing feels as good on a burn as a piece of this plant snipped off and held to your skin.

Img_1883

More texture. Connie, this one is for you!

Img_1899

I like the variations of purple shades in the plant below. Sort of reminds me of the tie-dye era of the 1970s!

Img_1904_2

And I love sage. The leaves remind me of Lambs Ears. But it doesn’t have this pungent scent.

Img_2261

More interesting texture in the leaves below.

Img_2303 

This one reminds me of satin.

Img_2290

I like how this succulent looks like it has an imprint of rick-rack both inside and outside.

Img_2285

One of my all-time favorite herbs, lemon balm.

Img_2418

My rock pile behind the pond. I have seashells mixed in. I would rather have rocks given to me than fine jewelry! I know, you think I’m crazy!

Img_2424

Little baby succulents I’ve stuck in a small pot to get started.

Img_2427

Some of my blogger friends out there are OU Sooner fans. Now I live in Texas, but this is the phone I carry!

Img_2454

Responses

  1. My mother-n-law introduced me this year to a bunch of new plants…and Lambs Ears are one of them…and they are now in my garden. I love the little purple flowers that bloom out on them. 🙂

  2. Hi Brenda,
    I may have to try some of these. Don’t think I have any except the sage. I bought some called ‘hot lips’ last year and the hummingbirds love it!
    Diane

  3. I’m a ‘rock nut’ too (after all aren’t jewels really rocks? I love your spider thing, and I enjoy most of your pictured plants at my house! But OU, I live in a Longhorn-Aggie house! THEY would kill me!

  4. That’s what I love about my blogging friends …… I have found such kindred spirits. I love rocks …. Hubby looks at me a liitle funny when I discover a particularly lovely rock to put in my rock borders. And, I love texture ….. you can’t always count on the flowers but a cool leaf will be there all summer long.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  5. That’s what I love about my blogging friends …… I have found such kindred spirits. I love rocks …. Hubby looks at me a liitle funny when I discover a particularly lovely rock to put in my rock borders. And, I love texture ….. you can’t always count on the flowers but a cool leaf will be there all summer long.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  6. That’s what I love about my blogging friends …… I have found such kindred spirits. I love rocks …. Hubby looks at me a liitle funny when I discover a particularly lovely rock to put in my rock borders. And, I love texture ….. you can’t always count on the flowers but a cool leaf will be there all summer long.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  7. Oh, I love the spider! Such a cute addition to your garden! I am not sure how tall the “fan leaf” (anahaw) could get in Texas but back home they can be as tall as coconuts!

    Later!

  8. I love the art spider. He looks great there.
    The texture of sage is wondreful. I just harvested a lot of mine and I just love it. It is one of my favoirtes next to basil.

    I’m must rather have rocks or manure for that matter, than jewels. I like flowers better. They fill all your senses.

  9. Hi Brenda. It’s nice seeing all of your pretty plants up close. Everything looks so healthy – you much have a green thumb. I like your little wire spider and web,too. Never seen anything like it before.
    Hope all is going well and be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  10. Your spider web is so cute, I love it. I like all you plants. I love succulent,but every time I try growing them I seem to kill the poor little plants. Maybe I water them to much.

  11. I love the spider, and all your plant close-ups! You are such a good photographer! I’m a big fan of Aloe Vera! I keep some pure Aloe Vera gel under my kitchen sink and use it anytime I get a burn! It always keeps it from blistering! Patti

  12. Beautiful photos, Brenda! I love that spider web.

  13. This just shows you don’t have to photograph a blossom to have a pretty picture. I love the textures of all your plants but I especially love your spider web.

    Hugs,
    Gretchen

  14. I am growing ever-fonder of succulents. And purslane. I’m wild about it. Hmm…maybe that means I’m cheap. 🙂 Or perhaps my love of succulents and purslane means I’m adaptable and tough.

    Thank you for your pics, always an inspiration for me.

  15. Hi Brenda,

    What a charming spider web. Love your photo’s. How are you doing in the intense heat? Thinking of you.

    hugs,
    Barb

  16. Boomer Sooner! Thanks for the shot of your phone. I don’t have one with the logo, but I do have a Boomer Sooner ringtone!
    The purple triangular plant is awesome, I must find some of it to add to my garden. Do you know what the name is? It looks like some sort of oxalys(that is soooo incorrectly spelled).

  17. Funny… you’d rather have rocks than jewels. I guess that’s not too bad. I’d rather have $ to go junkin’ for my booth or buy something for the house. xoxo, Joanna

  18. I love the spider/web! I can almost ‘smell’ the lemon balm. 🙂

  19. Hi Brenda…. how cute that spider web; awesome for the garden. I thought it was real when I first saw it! 🙂

    Wishing you the sweetest afternoon….

    cielo

  20. Beautiful photos! — especially the sage leaves.

    Susan
    xo

  21. What pretty plants. I love the spider web. So unusual.

  22. I don’t think you are the least bit crazy for wanting rocks instead of jewelry. I collect rocks! Where ever I go. And haul them home. The one exception was when we went to Italy this spring. I thought I would get in trouble…:-)
    Penny

  23. Good morning, Brenda. Hope you have a sweet day! 🙂

  24. As always, just beautiful. It is interesting to see the plants that can do well in different parts of the country. When I look at the pictures on your blog, I wish that I could walk through your gardens. Susan

  25. Hi Brenda 🙂

    Your yard looks so amazing and ironically it looks cooler than I know it is LOL My grandfather Ox used to put aloe plant on all my burns and that was quite a bit, because I never listened to the warning… “Don’t touch it, it’s hot” 😉

    I hope your sweet little friend had a wonderful birthday 🙂

    hugs,
    rue


Leave a Reply

Categories

