Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 31, 2008

Ethel Garden Gloves & Bird Houses

Img_2355

I wanted to share with you a pair of garden gloves I find to my liking. They are called The Ethel Glove. Peruse this website and you may find a pattern you fall in love with. They are stylish, washable, and well-fitting.

Img_2357_2

I find it hard to locate gardening gloves that are actually pretty, and that fit well. (These fit well!)

Anyway, they have a lovely catalog, and a good price. (Suggested retail $18). If you find that you want to order a pair, go to this website. If you order within the next month, and use my name, "Brenda" in the code, you receive 10% off your purchase.

Img_2359_2

Img_2364

Img_2360_2

Img_2363_2

I think I’m going to order some as gifts for a few gardening friends. A certain one has a birthday coming up in about a week!

Img_2366_3

_________________________________________________________________

Now for a tour of my bird houses.This one came from Canton Trade Days.

Img_2231

And of course one that has "USA" on one side, and "Texas" on the other. I failed to take a photo of the "Texas" side. I purchased this one in Wimberly, Texas back in the early 1990s, and it hasn’t fallen apart yet!

Img_2222

Buford’s is a garage sale find.

Img_2221

More garage sale finds that have held up well to the elements.

Img_2130

Img_2133

This one was ordered from Amish country.

Img_2132_2

The one below was purchased from a local arts show.

Img_1913

The following were already here when I moved into this house. I suppose the woman who resided here just before me loved her birds as well!

Img_1914

Img_1915

Img_1916

Attracting wildlife is an important element of my gardening strategy.

We need to remember that a pretty yard isn’t always the most hospitable for birds and other wildlife. There are many books that will aid you in attracting them to your yard.

Water features, such as bird baths, are essential in my garden. I also have the small garden pond. And a bird bath from Gardener’s Supply company. But it doesn’t have to be anything fancy. Just the bottom of a terra cotta pot will suffice. The birds just need a good perching spot. And you need to place it where predators can’t easily find them as they drink.

Shrubs and trees give them places to hide before they enter their nest to feed their young.

Enjoy your birds! I certainly do. Each spring I look forward to the Eastern bluebirds, certainly one of the prettiest birds I’ve ever had the chance to see up close and personal. And the little chickadees and wrens. The cardinal mates are fun to watch too.

Img_1917

Img_1921

Img_2279

Have a glorious time in your garden today!

Responses

  1. You never fail to entertain me, Brenda. You have such a variety of yard art in your garden. Some day, in your spare time (haha), count how many items you have out there! You really have it grouped together nicely, too.
    Do you go to Canton often? It used to be one of my favorite places. Every visit, I would find things I hadn’t seen before.
    Hope you are feeling better today.

  2. Thanks for the heads up on Ethel’s gloves and birdhouses. You have a beautiful collection of birdhouses, Brenda. I have only one in my property and I was jumping up and down when a mother bird decided to lay her eggs in this very tiny abode…

    Have a nice day!

  3. That was a fun cute post Brenda !
    Anyone ever call you the Bird Lady?
    I love your collection of bird houses, each one is adorable,the gloves look wonderful I just may treat myself, they are by far the nicest I have ever seen.
    I am just wondering how many things you have in your garden? Must give it quite a nice cosy look, a place where you would want to go sit a while,soak up the warm sun and the sounds of the birds.
    Have you bought anything PINK yet??
    Take care,
    Diane

  4. I’m going to have to check the Ethel gloves out. I have a pair, but the thorns from these nasty weeds I get here go right through them. I don’t know that I’ve EVER had a pair of nice garden gloves. And I love the birdhouses. I bought 3 this spring and still need to get them painted so my hubby can put them up for me. 😉

    Hope you’re having a good day.

    *hugs*

  5. love the bird house! …and the gloves look nice too. xoxo, Joanna

  6. Brenda, I love your birdhouses! xoxo, Joanna

  7. Love the birdhouses! Cute gloves too – I’ll have to check out that site soon.

  8. Hi Brenda,

    What a wonderful assortment of birdhouses you have.

    A granddaughter-yay! I’m so excited for your family. I had 2 boys so I never had experience with little girls. I am loving it!

  9. Brenda, I love all of your birdhouses! And thanks for the tip on the new gloves. I need some. I will check Ethel out!
    Penny
    p.s. the red paint I use is not from a spray can. It is regular paint I brush on – it is called Apple a Day Red by Olympic paints from Lowe’s…

  10. Hi Brenda! I’ve been gone all day and am just now getting around to visiting my buddies. Those gloves look so nice. I have a hard time finding some I like too and that fit me. I also loose them quite often. Your bird houses are just precious. You must have a pretty good sized yard to have so many!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  11. Nice birdhouses – and gloves, Brenda. The gloves look very comfy and are beautiful too.
    Happy night!
    xo~Tracie

  12. An absolutely wonderful collections of birdhouses! All unique!
    Those are pretty snazzy garden gloves!
    Now I’m off to read your post about the baby arrival!!!! hugs NG

  13. I could sit in the garden all day and watch the birds. I love the cardinals and hummingbirds and especially the woodpeckers! xo, suzy

  14. Hi Brenda,
    I love birdhouses too! Yours look great and functional
    diane

  15. Good morning, Brenda. I hope you have a very beautiful day! 🙂
    *hugs*

  16. You are so lucky to live out East! We were driving through Jacksonville this past spring and I start squealing so loudly for my husband to turn down a side road, we were lucky he didn’t wreck instead. But, he did turn and I got to see my first live Bluebird. I still get excited just thinking about it! LOL

  17. What great birdhouses Brenda! I love them all and I know the birdies enjoy visiting your garden.

    Gretchen

  18. Hi Brenda!
    I love your adorable, eclectic, birdhouses! So fun and I know your neighborhood birds must love visiting you!! The gloves are great fun too – hmm.. wonder if they would help my very black thumb? 😉
    Happy Weekend!

    xo,
    Kim

  19. Thanks for the tip about the gloves! Mine are almost worn out. I love well-fitting garden gloves, and yes, I have a friend, too. 🙂 You know what gets me in your pics this post– the blue, blue, blue. And the palm. I’m gettin’ me one of those palms when I move.
    Hugs,

  20. I love birdhouses in the garden! Birds are so much fun to watch.
    I really have to get myself some of those gloves!!! Of course maybe I should get myself a garden first!!! LOL!!!
    Hope you are feeling better today sweetie! You have been in my thoughts.
    -Cinderella

  21. Hi Brenda,

    I still don’t know beans and I’m 54-lol.

    Have a good weekend.

  22. Lovely birdhouses Brenda! The Bluebird is the official Missouri state bird.

    I’m trying to catch up again. Back from the lake, late yesterday.

    I purchased a laptop yesterday afternoon. Perhaps I can visit bloglandia when I’m away and not get so far behind.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  23. What a lovely collection of bird houses. I love those gloves too. They look very comfy(-:

  24. Brenda, your yard is like a fairyland. I love all your birdhouses! 🙂

  25. Ok, these are just lovely! lovely!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

