Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 29, 2008

Grandbaby News!

Img_2240

Well…my oldest daughter called this morning just after her ultrasound. She’s the mother of my four year old grandson on the sidebar. Guess what we’re having? A GIRL!!! We were both screaming through the phone. Two high-pitched, screeching, elated women. Me doing the I’m-so-happy, oh-so-happy dance; she in her car on the way to a house inspection. She’s a real estate agent.

Another bit of good news: she listed and sold her little sister’s house in about 24 hours time; no small feat in the current economic times. This would be the sister she stuffed into a clothes dryer when little sister was a toddler. Until her wedding night in Cozumel, I blamed the little girl down the street for this bad deed. We were all in a festive mood after the lovely beachside ceremony at sunset. As it was getting dark, I was giddily entertaining her new inlaws by telling the stunts she’d pulled as a kid. It was then that she confessed. And all this time I’d tsk-tsked about the wayward little girl who lived down the street! Poor sociopathic thing, I’d always whispered!

Img_2262

I went looking through the garden for a pink flower to share my feminine news. Of course I couldn’t find one. So here’s purple! A morning glory just coming out of its shy phase.

Img_2265

Just Sunday I was walking through a store, sighing over all the cute little girl dresses, wondering if I’d ever have the chance to buy one. Little boys are special, I’ll be the first one to say. But for some reason I have yet to understand, they’re hell-bent on breaking, stomping, and shoving most every object that they happen upon.

I love my grandson to pieces, but he won’t say five words to Grammy on the telephone. I’ll ask him questions, try to bring him out. Tease him. All sorts of tomfoolery that worked on girls. To no avail.

Our usual phone conversations: "What ya doing, Riley?" "Nothing." "Riley, what did you do at school today?" "Nothing." "Riley, do you have a girlfriend?" "No." "You know Grammy loves you, Riley." "Yeah." Then, "Bye, Grammy!" And he’s off and the phone is dropped to the floor.

I want to hear a little girl go into great detail about what her doll is currently wearing. (The one that Grammy of course sent her in the mail). I want to hear about her new favorite shade of nail polish she found in Mommy’s bathroom and applied all by herself. I want to imagine her twirling a little hair curl around her finger while she talks to me on the phone. I want to visualize that impish grin her mother had thirty years ago, and know in my heart that it’s on her sweet little face as we speak.

And of course, we’re all hoping Riley does not follow in his mother’s footsteps with his new sibling that will arrive in December, just as he did almost five years ago. And stuff his little sister in the clothes dryer while Mommy is trying to remove nail polish from most every surface in the house.

Responses

  1. My daughter isn’t any better at talking on the phone than my son is… but at least you can buy her the pretty dresses. Congatulations!

  2. Congratulations! I know you won’t be able to stand it until December! Why am I already visualizing you in the stores (tomorrow?) buying up all the pink baby things?
    Get in there and change the color on that flower with Photoshop! You want pink, make it happen!

  3. Congratulations on your granddaughter to be! I only have sons but I always thought it would of been nice to have alittle girl, I think she would of wrapped her Daddy around her little finger (kindof like I did mine). lol

  4. OH BOY A GIRL!!! We got two girls (our first) Nov 2006 and they are wonderful! And all the wonderful yummy girlstuff at all the stores! Congrats! (doing a little happy dance for you and your daughter-AND the lucky little female addition to your family:)

  5. PINK CONGRATULATIONS !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You must show us the first pink frilly thing you buy!!!
    If it were me I would be soooooooooooo excited you would have to scrap me off the ceiling!!!
    I am very very happy for all of you!!!
    Diane

  6. Congratulations, Brenda!
    Lots of pink glitter, nail polish and streamers blowing in the rose petal filled breezes!
    xo~Tracie

  7. Yayyyyyy!!!!! I have a boy and a girl and it is a special moment to find out when you have a daughter!!! I didn’t find out until that day she was born but I was thrilled. I would have been thrilled if I would had a boy too but I really wanted a little girl to dress up and all that girlie stuff!!!! But guess who I am closer to? LOL It all ends up good in the end though!!!! My kids never did things like lock one another in the dryer…lol that is a good story!!!! We live out in the country and had no neighbors. I had to drive them to friends houses to play. So basically they had no choice but to be best friends. They still are.

  8. I am so happy for you. Congratulations. Just think of all the cute cute clothes.

  9. I’m tickled PINK for you both, Brenda!

  10. I’m tickled PINK for both of you, Brenda! (I hope this doesn’t go through twice…my laptop doesn’t seem to like Typepad this morning…)

  11. Congratulations to you and your daughter Brenda!!!

  12. Congratulations, Brenda! =) Babies are enjoyable all the way around!!

    And I love your purple morning glories. I don’t have any of those…hmmm…maybe I should plant some.

  13. PS check my page today for your award!! 🙂

  14. very cute! Congrats! I’m not a grandmother… but we have a baby girl coming into the family too. (late Nov.) My lil’ brother & his wife are expecting their 1st baby. It’s been 5 yrs. since the last baby was born in our family… and I’m ready to babysit another little cutie pie! 🙂 Just think, Brenda… in Dec, we can both blog about cute, little baby toes & pink dresses. xoxo, Joanna

  15. Oh Brenda… I’m so happy for you! Congratulations to your daughter and you and your family… what a blessing…. I wish you many many happy hours with this new angel…

    Blessings to you and yours

    cielo

  16. Congratulations Brenda! You are going to love having a granddaughter. Mine are so much fun.

    Looks like I need to make another hair bow thingy for your new granddaughter.
    Hugs,
    Gretchen

  17. Congrats, Grandma!

    happy Wednesday!

  18. Morning, Brenda! Oh, congratulations! I know you’re just so excited, I know I sure would be!! How funny about your daughte confessing about her little naughty deed. I did a little naughty deed when I was about 10 years old. Never told a soul and my Mother thot our neighbor’s daughter did it, too, just like you! When I was in my 30s I finally broke down and told her I did it. She couldn’t believe it. We’re all just stinkers, aren’t we? Thanks for popping in and I hope you at least at a blackberry!
    Congrats again!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  19. Congratulations, Brenda! Oh, I’m so happy for you! I loved reading about the dryer incident! I was sitting here laughing! What a cute story! Patti

  20. A little girl — how wonderful! Congratulations!

    Lovely photos!

    Hugs,
    Susan

  21. Congratulations Brenda!! That is such exciting news! I had to laugh at your description of boys! So true! I adore my son but boy is he a rotten one- always into something and tearing things apart! Everyone keeps telling me that that is just what boys do but I am at my wits end trying to reform him! He is a good boy but if I have t replace one more curtain rod in his room because he feels the need to be George ofthe Jungle I am gonna come uglued!! LOL!!My son LOVES to talk on the phone though- he never wants to give thephone back to us!!
    It is amazing how different our son and daughter are!!
    You have fun finding and buying pretty pink things! I see a beautiful garden tea party for you and your granddaughter in your future! You can teach her how to sew on that bautiful sewing machine, quilt, and garden! Oh what fun!!
    -Cinderella 🙂

  22. I love my nephews but when a little niece came along I was in seventh heaven,,,then I got two more and they are the cutest, smartest, most precious kids in the world. We are still overrun by boys but the little girls love thier Aunt and tell her so. They even think I am quite cool.

  23. Oh I am so thrilled for you! My granddaughter (only grand so far) just turned a year old and I’ve started calling her every night. Sooner or later it will click and she’ll start talking to grandma. 🙂

  24. I am soooo happy for you! My goodness, whenever we go into Walmart, I’m grabbing the cutest little girl things. You will have daughters and granddaughter!
    Big hugs,
    CA

  25. Oh!! How super duper exciting!! I would love to have a grand daughter!! You’ll have to brush off your sewing machine and start making little dresses. So fun! So fun! Congratulations!!

  26. Oh!! How super duper exciting!! I would love to have a grand daughter!! You’ll have to brush off your sewing machine and start making little dresses. So fun! So fun! Congratulations!!

  27. Oh!! How super duper exciting!! I would love to have a grand daughter!! You’ll have to brush off your sewing machine and start making little dresses. So fun! So fun! Congratulations!!

  28. A baby girl! How awesome. *blessings*

  29. Good morning Brenda 🙂

    Little girls are so much fun. I love dressing them up 🙂

    Congratulations!!

    hugs,
    rue

  30. Congratulations! How exciting!!! I hope one day to have a granddaughter – I have a few favorite dresses I saved from my daughter’s babyhood that I want to see worn again! You’re going to have sooo much fun doing all those little girl things!

  31. Brenda this is the BEST NEWS!!
    A little girl…my daughter and I so hoped she’d have a girl but little healthy boys with all their fingers and toes is just fine..as you know he was born 7 weeks ago. I wish you and your family all the Joy and best wishes for a safe and healthy delivery..get the pink tutu ready grammy! hugs aNNa

  32. Congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

