Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 26, 2008

Whimsical Garden Art

Img_2218

My blogging friend at Aunt Debbi’s Garden has asked us to post about some of our garden art. I don’t know if the theme is actually "whimsical" or "silly." I suppose you could call mine both!

Img_1864 

Sunshine in my courtyard, displayed over a table and chairs to have a meal.

Img_2175

Not a slimy snail. But a nice clean, dry one!

Img_2176

An antique mall find. I recall these from my youth.

Img_2177

A mosaic turtle.

Img_2178

Gotta love those gazing balls!

Img_2179

Frogs and harmony in the dappled shade…

Img_2181

A sweet bug that doesn’t crawl very far…

Img_2182

Etc…

Img_2183

Gotta have love…

Img_2185

A red table between two black wrought-iron chairs with a bird and house.

Img_2186

Img_2187

Img_2188

Img_2198

Img_2197

Sculptures (just above and below) from Garden Deva. (Some truly amazing stuff this woman makes!) She’s located in downtown Tulsa, but sells from the website. And also fills custom orders. I don’t know the lady, but I love what she makes for the garden!

Img_2213

A statue from The Garden Deva. Below is a close up. I love her by the pond.

Img_2212

Her whimsical chimes…

Img_2235

A plant stake…

Img_2224_2

I have The Garden Deva make the signs for my memorial garden areas.

Img_2204

Img_2205

Img_2220

Img_2200

Are we tired yet? Yes, I have a lot of garden art!

Img_2196

Img_2199

Img_2202

Img_2209

Img_2215

Img_2195

Img_2216

Img_2230

Img_2239

Img_2191

Img_2208

Img_2219

Img_2229 

Img_2238

Img_2210

Img_2234 

Img_2237

Yes, at this point even I am aware it borders on the rather ridiculous! Add to that all my birdhouses and chimes…

But it cheers me so between the seasons when not much is going on! I’ll save the birdhouses for later! 

Responses

  1. Its your garden you put what ever makes you smile and happy.!!
    I for one enjoyed your whimsical little things,knowing myself I would have even more!!
    My house is on a corner lot and the yard is huge, we dont have a fence, so its not very private,I keep asking for an enclosed patio and I keep dreaming of one but its so far in the future that its rather hazy.Dreaming ……

  2. Hi Brenda, thanks for playing. I have frog just like one of yours and I used to have the same teracotta snail, but a monkey broke it, durn. You are linked.

  3. You have some great garden art. Lots of whimsy in your garden. I only had a few, maybe I’m too serious? 🙂 I will have to add to my collection.

  4. Hi Brenda!

    This is Deana from Tulsa. Just dropping in to say hi and tell you how much I like your blog. The garden art is really cool. Up until last winter I had a yard full of trees – with 6 of the 7 now gone, I’m trying my hand at gardening. I’ve been studying blogs like crazy trying to learn without killing anything. So far, aside from fireblight, I’ve done okay.

    Blessings
    Deana

  5. Hi Brenda!

    This is Deana from Tulsa. Just dropping in to say hi and tell you how much I like your blog. The garden art is really cool. Up until last winter I had a yard full of trees – with 6 of the 7 now gone, I’m trying my hand at gardening. I’ve been studying blogs like crazy trying to learn without killing anything. So far, aside from fireblight, I’ve done okay.

    Blessings
    Deana

  6. Hi Brenda!

    This is Deana from Tulsa. Just dropping in to say hi and tell you how much I like your blog. The garden art is really cool. Up until last winter I had a yard full of trees – with 6 of the 7 now gone, I’m trying my hand at gardening. I’ve been studying blogs like crazy trying to learn without killing anything. So far, aside from fireblight, I’ve done okay.

    Blessings
    Deana

  7. Very whimsical, Brenda. Delightful, in fact. 🙂

  8. I love all of your garden art and I wouldn’t call them silly either! In fact after reading this I realize I seriously need to think about adding some more. My garden is very bare in that department at the moment. Thank for sharing all of the pictures. They are inspiring.

  9. You are the garden art queen(-: Love all your goodies. Thanks for sharing!!!

  10. Hi Brenda! Wow, you have so many cute little things in your garden. You must really have a big one to house all of these! I really like that fat little sun face – just makes me laugh!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  11. Okay, I admit defeat in the garden art arena. You are the ruler of garden art. I like it though! We have a bunch of stuff too, just not too many things I would consider whimsical or silly. I adore your art, it’s wonderful to meet another garden art collector!

  12. I love it, very bit of it! xo, suzy

  13. Once again, I am jealous! The metal gecko/lizard is my favorite; followed closely by the bright yellow frog. I don’t know how you have the courage to brave the heat and stay out long enough to photograph all the adorable yard art. The heat has me trapped inside, longing for fall when I can get out and enjoy the garden again! Thanks for the tour, it’s all lovely.

  14. Your garden are collection is fabulous! Oh my gosh! I love the snail with the moss growing on it but I like it all. No wonder you spend so much time in your garden.
    Hugs,
    Gretcen

  15. My, my, but you do have a lot of garden art! I love it!
    I tried to ‘see’ if I could see your house when I was on Broadway Saturday but I was having to pay attention to traffic since I was driving. I still want to get by and see your gardens.
    Hugs,
    Tina

  16. I tracked you here from a comment elsewhere. Might I just say, I LOVE your garden art! If I had the space for a lovely outdoor garden (and a tad more energy to make it happen!), it would look very similar to yours. Every single piece appealed to me that much. My favorites were the white cast iron bird in front of the red checked birdhouse, and the fat Cardinal. I guess that’s because I’m such a bird nut.

    It was a pleasure seeing your garden. 🙂

  17. Oh my goodness! Everytime I “visit” your garden there is o much more to discover! I love all of your garden art. It adds so much whimsy and personality!
    -Cinderella 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

