Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 25, 2008

A Garden For Calista

Img_1789

(For Heather and her soon-to-be-born daughter)

Calista, one of the prettiest sights you will ever behold is a garden with flowers. This flower reminds me of a little girl’s hat you might wear to your first tea party.

Your mother already has so much love for you. And one day, she will take your hand, and the two of you shall stroll through a garden together.

Img_1831_6

You mother will teach you that in life there are princes and there are toads. (Your father happens to fall into the prince category.) And she will explain how you are to tell the difference.

This, sweet girl, is a toad.

Img_1787_2

Your mother is really Cinderella. (I will go ahead and share that little secret with you). So she shall have many magical delights in store for you. (Some may involve a pumpkin coach…)

Img_2174

She will show you vivid yellow flowers as you walk hand-in-hand with the sun shining down on your backs.

Img_2138

There will be feminine pinks. You might want to pick one of those to carry along with you.

Img_1809

There will be soft lavenders…

Img_1805

Vibrant reds…

Img_2136

And shades of orange.

Img_2135

You will likely pause in your wandering through the garden to sit down on a bench and take in the beauty that surrounds you.

Img_2168

Img_2159

Your mother will tell you that in nature, there must be insects, like this ant. And how creatures of the wild and nature’s flowers are all connected.

Img_2160

Some day there will come a time when she shall explain about the birds and the bees…

Img_2163

That there are little bits of hidden beauty every where you go, if only you pause to look…

Img_2164

She will teach you the meaning of the little sign below…

Img_2157

That "jewels" come in many forms…

Img_2158

And that there will come a day when someone besides your loving father will bring you roses…

Img_2155

There will be days when your mother will want to throw up her hands in frustration. Because, after all, you are a child. And children are apt to get into all kinds of trouble, and make all kinds of messes…

Img_2156

But still, Calista, every day is just a garden waiting for you to enter it. Where you will find your own treasures and grow your own blooms. Seek your own shades of joy, and walk your own pathways. In the garden of your life.

Welcome to the world, sweet baby girl!

Img_2147

"How does the meadow flower its bloom unfold? Because the lovely little flower is free." – William Wordsworth

Responses

  1. Beautiful post! The pictures are so pretty, and your commentary for baby Calista is so sweet and heartfelt.

  2. What a beautiful and delightfully creative post for dear Heather and Cali! Your flowers are amazing and I enjoyed your commentary! The pink angel trumpets did look just like dress skirts!

    Wonderful post, I am so glad you joined in this special event!
    ~Rhonda

  3. I love your post!!!!

  4. Hi Brnda, This post of your’s today was one of the nicest ways to welcome in a new baby!…So imaginative & yet very true!…I so enjoyed it…& I’m sure Heather will too!…You have a great garden!…Heidi XO

  5. Hi Brenda,
    I’m sure Heather will love this post. Your pictures of your garden and your words to mama and baby are beautiful!
    Hope you have a great day,
    Diane

  6. Hi Brenda, This post of your’s today was one of the nicest ways to welcome in a new baby!…So imaginative & yet very true!…I so enjoyed it…& I’m sure Heather will too!…You have a great garden!…Heidi XO

  7. This was beautiful, Brenda!

  8. This is amazing Brenda! Simply beautiful.
    Pat

  9. I am speechless Brenda!What a beautiful and creative post. You know how much I enjoy a garden and the way you related the garden to life was truly poetic and heart- touching. I am crying and crying- happy tears of course- over this post. Absolutely beautiul! Thank You so much for participating! I feel so blessed to have met you and so many wonderful ladies through blogging! You have all touched my life in a way you will never know!Thank You for being my friend!
    Love and God Bless,
    Cinderella 🙂

  10. Brenda your quite the little story teller!
    Have you ever thought of writing ?
    You have a talent for it,and a very good imagination!!
    It was a wonderful post !
    Diane

  11. What a sentimental and beautiful post to welcome a new grandchild into this world.

  12. That was absolutely beautiful Brenda 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  13. Just beautiful!
    *Appause, Appuase*!!
    Nikki

  14. I’ve really enjoyed all the pictures you’ve posted the last couple of days! Your garden is so pretty.
    Sorry about Shrimp passing away!

  15. That was an exceptional post. I will have to share this. Beautiful flowers starting with that first breathtaking one.

  16. Dear creative Brenda … a most touching post bringing a tear to my eye! For sure, you have a gift.

  17. Hi Brenda,

    A truly lovely post. It touched my heart.

    I am slowly making my way back around. Thank you so much for your kind words. They meant the world to us.

    Thank you my friend.

    hugs to you,
    Barb

  18. Beautiful…just beautiful. I swear that I saw tiny little fairies and pixies poking their pointy little noses and chins out from behind those flowers. This was an enchanting post. Susan

  19. Oh Brenda! That was absolutely wonderful!!

  20. Oh Brenda! That was absolutely wonderful!!

  21. Oh Brenda! That was absolutely wonderful!!

  22. Beautiful, honey. A friend and I were just talking– we decided some people are poison ivy. 🙂 I just love your garden.
    xxxooo

  23. Oh, Brenda, that brought tears of joy to my eyes. Beautiful thoughts, my friend, and it was I who was discussing the poison ivy people with Curtiss Ann.~~Dee

  24. Hi Brenda, your garden, unfolding in so beautiful.All the different flowers and hidden pretties, I even love the toad. Hugs Marie Antionette

  25. You brought tears to my eyes and raised the hair on my arms. This was wonderful! sniff, sniff!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

