Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 22, 2008

Dragonflies For Alexandra

Img_1931

Alex, I know you’re not feeling well today. And your surgery is tomorrow. I was just in the garden and saw this beauty. I rushed back inside to get my camera. These are for you, as I know you love dragonflies. Hope you enjoy the views. And that it makes you smile. Even for just a moment…

Img_1924

"As kingfishers catch fire, dragonflies draw flame." – Gerard Hopkins

Img_1926

It really seems to love this pond plant. Wish you were here to see for yourself!

Img_1927

The wings are like gossamer lace. So intricate!

Img_1932

"Grief may be joy misunderstood; Only the Good discerns the good." – Elizabeth Barrett Browning  (1862)

Img_1933

Responses

  1. Lovely photos. I’m sure Alex will enjoy them. xoxo, Joanna

  2. The pictures of the dragonfly were just amazing! Brenda, you are such a kind and thoughtful soul. Susan

  3. Oh Brenda…these are so cool!!! And they did make me smile! 🙂 Can I save them to print off and post here next to the couch? I’d love to look at them every moment I can. Thank you very much.
    *hugs*

  4. Beautiful, beautiful photos! You do such good work! Patti

  5. Those photos are extraordinary! What a sweet thing to do for your friend. She’ll be in my thoughts.

    Gretchen

  6. Those photos made my cry, they are beautiful! They are so close, I feel that I can almost touch them. We live 3 blocks from the lake, and we have LOTS of dragonflies. Some of them look artificial, they are so colorful, and almost iridescent! I wish you would come photograph my dragonflies. I will send them over to you to have their photos made!

  7. Such a good deed! Alex will always be in my thoughts and prayers.

    XOXO

  8. Beautiful pictures and such a sweet thought to take them for Alexandra,my prayers are for her tomorrow.
    Diane

  9. Oh, Brenda, you are the kindest heart! And the most capable with a camera. What exquisite shots! Thank you for sharing the beauty and wonder.

  10. Brenda .. those are amazing pictures girl ! .. I haven’t seen any dragonflies in my garden .. we don’t have any water features and no one close to us does .. fears of West Nile virus problems .. BUT wow .. I would love to see these beauties in real life .. at least you have given me a treat with these fantastic pictures ! thank you : )
    Joy

  11. Those are so striking! I know Alex will appreciate them. You have a good heart, Brenda.

  12. Hi Brenda,
    What beautiful photos for your friend, Alex. I see from her comment, you really touched her heart with this kindness from friend to friend.
    xoxo~Tracie

  13. I’ve never seen a red dragonfly before. Very cool. I just discovered your blog and I’m enjoying it.

  14. My Dear Brenda! What beautiful picures, made even more beautiful with the meaning behind them! You are such a blessing- truly an incredible woman!
    I always enjoy pitures of your garden……..I am living vicariously through you until I can have a garden of my own some day. My heart aches to be elbow deep in the dirt and discovering each new bloom….. someday. Until then I thank you for the inspiration!!
    I am SO far behind on blogs! I have so many to catch up on!
    I am keeping Alex in my thouhts and prayers.
    (((HUGS)))
    Cinderella

  15. What a beautiful and thoughtful thing to do Brenda 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  16. Brenda, you’re such a thoughful friend. Best wishes to Alex on a successful surgery and rapid recovery.

  17. Came cross your blog,I haven’t seen a red dragon fly in years.We do have them here in south Miss.You mut be an inspriration to your friend Alex.You two are truly blessed to befriends with each other. Hugs ans dragonfly kisses Marie Antionette

  18. Good morning, Brenda.

    Today is the “big” day! =/ I wanted to say thank you again for all of your love, support and encouragement during this time. PLEASE stop by today for a special award that I gave you.

    love u!
    *hugs*

  19. Wow Brenda, that is some excellent photography. Beautiful!!

    🙂
    Teresa
    xo

  20. Brenda, I’m playing catchup on my fav blogs. Your gift is exquisite. Love those gossamer wings. I don’t see the red dragonflies here much.~~Dee


Leave a Reply

Categories

