Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 20, 2008

Living In The Pines

Img_1826

"Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in." – Robert Frost

I live in what is considered the Piney Woods of Texas. I am surrounded by lush, tall pines that carpet the grass with pine cones. (Did you know you can use pine cones in the bottom of plant pots to fill much of the pot before you put in your soil? It keeps you from having to use so much unnecessary soil if your pot is large. And the best part is, when you have to move your pot, it is much, much lighter to lift!)

Img_1825_2

This is the sign in my front yard put up by Cherie of the Granite Girls. Cherie (who is my age) is the short, perky woman who runs around telling all these brawny contractors what to do. She is a spit fire!

Img_1828_2

I’m sure you’re not surprised to see that I have a red mail box. It is a large mailbox. And still Christine who brings the mail often has to pile it on my porch! Because I am a homebody and choose to shop online more than go out into traffic. Where these days you are surrounded by the ever-present and ubiquitous cell phone conversations, crowded malls, and all manner of chaotic behavior. (Not the least of which are the children running amok with parents too busy with their cell phone conversations to correct their rowdy behavior!)

Img_1830

They say they will be finishing up with the master bath some time this week. But it will take awhile for the new shower door to come in. We had the tub taken out all together and it will now be a large shower area.

I will be so happy when I can clean things up and have order. You all know how I hate chaos. For me, chaos around me creates chaos in my mind!

And the good news is, after they finish up this bath, we will have finished renovating this side of the garden home. And when they start on the other side, I can close the pets and myself off on this west side. I will have a bath room, bedroom, garden room, and kitchen without worrying about running around with a dog underneath each arm to reach a bathroom! Such a glorious thought!

Img_1831

Where we love is home; home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.                                      -Oliver Wendell Holmes

Responses

  1. It must feel amazing to be surrounded by pine trees. And your garden in beautiful. I closed my eyes and imagined standing there in the early morning hours, with a breeze caressing my cheeks and breathing in new life. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Isn’t it wonderful to be surrounded by all those mature trees? In our case it’s douglas firs. My husband sent a photo from our deck to a friend in Spain and he replied, “Oh, so you live in the forest.” We live in a city, but our neighborhood is full of mature trees that were left here when the area was developed so it does look like we live in a forest.

  3. Brenda, you have such a beautiful home…and surrounded by all those trees! Beautiful all year round. Your garden is lovely too.

  4. Your yard is immaculate, I am jealous! In my mind, I am sitting there visiting you, with a big cold glass of iced tea. It looks so cool and I am in Texas, so I know it is not!
    I love all the stone and gravel, did you do that, or was it like that when you moved? I would love to do something like that, to have more space for lawn furniture and potted plants, and less grass to mow. Is there landscape fabric underneath to keep the weeds out? It is simply lovely!

  5. Hi Brenda,

    I am completely with you about orderliness. When I am feeling overwhelmed with deadlines, clearing my desk and putting things away is the best therapy.

    I’m glad to hear things are coming together. A good woman is often just what’s needed to keep the workers on schedule and on task! I need one!

    Robin
    Gardening Examiner

  6. Brenda, Your yard and garden are perfect. Now I can picture you there and I know why you love it so.

    Gretchen

  7. love, love, love pines! Our woods is hardwoods with a smattering of native white pines. We try to add some more in as we can find good spots.

    Your garden looks so peaceful. ((hugs)) Rosie

  8. love, love, love pines! Our woods is hardwoods with a smattering of native white pines. We try to add some more in as we can find good spots.

    Your garden looks so peaceful. ((hugs)) Rosie

  9. love, love, love pines! Our woods is hardwoods with a smattering of native white pines. We try to add some more in as we can find good spots.

    Your garden looks so peaceful. ((hugs)) Rosie

  10. Hi Brenda! I love your pine trees too! You probably have so many cones to play with at Christmastime. Poor poor one! Hopefully your renovations will be over soon. Your patio area you’re showing is very nice and I love your beautiful flowers. You’re taking great photos. I do love going to see Kim.
    Be a sweetie and hope you’re feeling better,
    Shelia 😉

  11. Its all very laid back relaxed looking ! I love your red mail box!!

    I have 3 huge red pines on the corner of our lot we are on a corner lot, I love my red pines too.They give us a lot of shade.
    Diane

  12. I love your yard. We lost most of our pines to Katrina but smaller tress are filling in pretty good. I never thought of putting pine cones in the bottom of those large pots, Good idea.
    Cute little frog up front! I love the blue of the gazing ball against all that green. Nice brick too.

  13. Don’t worry about the house being done. With a garden this pretty you could always camp out!

  14. Glad you liked my hibiscus photo. Send me your e-mail and I will send you the file.

  15. Pine cones in the bottom of your pots, I love that. So clever of you.

  16. I am LOL as I read the Robert Frost quote. Of all the quotes I’ve read in my life, that is one that I have etched in memory. I even used it years ago in a book. 🙂

    Great minds think alike.

  17. By now I hope you are enjoying some more peace and quiet. You had me laughing out loud when I read your comment about Cali puking or pooping on my new bedding! I can definitely see that happening! I love your frankness!!
    My son was terrible withthe puking- he had severe acid reflux as a baby. We had purchased a new sofa right before he was born and needless to say…….. we didn’t have it for long!! I have learned that I need to decorte a certain way when the kids are small and later I will be able to decorate the way I really want!!
    -Cinderella 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

