Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 18, 2008

Ordinary Is More Than Just A Word

Img_1795

This morning I got up and shut myself in the garden room with my pets and morning coffee, and began to sift through blog entries I’ve missed with all the excitement going on around here. And this is what I found from my sweet friend Nancy who is a fantastic photographer and writer in Nova Scotia. Turn up your sound and listen and watch what she has managed to create. Share it with someone you love. It transcends mere beauty:

Ordinary Miracles Video

Was that not utterly amazing???

I have several things to tell you. One is that Scooterblu’s Whimsy is having a virtual baby shower for Heather (who I refer to as Cinderella. If you grew up in the sixties and recall the movie Cinderella with Leslie Anne Warren, you will recognize the resemblance to Heather in the right sidebar photo of her blog, Hopscotch And Hydrangeas.) So go see Rhonda about the baby shower, to be held on July 25th, in Heather’s honor. She will be having her third child, a girl. And you have to be signed up with Rhonda by the 23rd, I believe.

Other news: I have been asked to name my toad. I have christened him "Tommy The Toad."

Other news: Yes, I am fine now that I got the medication out of my system. I thank you all for your concern and kind words.

Other news: Jan at Always Growing in Louisiana left a link today to a story that will give you pause. It is about a plant pot that explodes due to the right mixture of soil, moisture and heat:

http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D91VQL801&show_article=1&catnum=9

Amazing…

Alex at My Quill And Pen will be having her biopsy next Wednesday. I wrote a poem for her earlier in the week. If you will, take the time to go over and wish her luck. She also started taking ballet lessons a few months ago. Alex yearned as a child to be a ballerina. But her parents never had the money for lessons. She did have a pair of ballet slippers from a garage sale that she acquired as she "danced in her head." Until this spring when she decided now was the time to learn ballet. She also blogs about learning ballet at Dreams Do Come True. It is a wonderful journey of learning pure poetic steps.

It is Friday. We are coming along on the house. They are laying diagonal tiles right now. The walls are being painted. And soon (hopefully) I will have new bathroom renovation photos for you.

Have a wonderful weekend. Below are some photos from my gardens this morning. Someone asked me earlier this week what camera I use. I actually loved Kim’s photos so much at Daisy Cottage that I emailed her months ago to ask what camera she was using for her phenomenal photos. And so when my camera started acting up, I bought the same one she had. It is a Canon Powershot G9. I do not profess to be the photographer Kim is, but I love to photograph my gardens. And I am quite pleased with my purchase. Thanks, Kim!

In Nancy’s theme of "Ordinary Miracles", I give you mine.

Img_1837

Img_1847

Img_1845

Img_1854 

Responses

  1. Wonderful post today and I am going to visit those ladies right now, its always so nice to visit new people.Glad your feeling better, and I do love your pics today.
    Take care,
    Diane

  2. Wow, I love both your photos and Kim’s. I have a Canon PowerShot, too, but an older model. Maybe I just need a beginner’s photography course, and a steadier hand! The fern photo is breathtaking. Thanks for taking the time to get such great shots, they are much appreciated.

  3. Hi Brenda… just came by to say hi and give you a hug…. I so enjoyed this post! There is nothings as beautiful as God’s creation… Thanks for sharing such beauty and send us closer to our Heavenly Father.

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

    Love ya

    cielo

  4. Glad you are feeling better, Brenda, and are back to your chipper self.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  5. Today seems to be my day of finding wonderful blogs that I somehow didn’t come across before. I love the look of your blog – it’s beautiful!

  6. The flowers in your garden are beautiful!! 🙂 How big is your garden? Thank you for your post about me and your continued prayers. I went through additional tests all afternoon. I’m tired..tired..tired.
    Talk to you soon!

  7. These photos are gorgeous -such beautiful colors.

    Good luck with your decorating.

    Have a great weekend.

    Susan

  8. I remember that Cinderella movie. I watched it every year. It came on around Thanks Giving time. It was so fun to watch!!! Your pictures are just beautiful. I want a new camera so bad.

  9. Pretty flowers! I love the soft pink bloom at the top of your post.

  10. I’ll have something for you on my blog tomorrow… come get it!

    cielo

  11. Geez somehow i missed the entry below. I am a ding dong. I hope today you are feeling better. I am giving you an award when you feel up to dropping by(-: Take care and (((hugs)))

  12. I’m stopping by to say good morning
    and to see what you’re up to and there is so much waiting for me!
    I shall listen to your video and visit your suggested friends!
    Enjoy your day hugs aNNa xo

  13. Hi Brenda, Sorry about your episode earlier this week. That’s skeery. And I am going to fuss. Why did you drive by yourself? Glad you are all better now. Medications can do funny things to you sometimes. Hope you are having a fabulous Saturday.

  14. Hi Brenda, Sorry about your episode earlier this week. That’s skeery. And I am going to fuss. Why did you drive by yourself? Glad you are all better now. Medications can do funny things to you sometimes. Hope you are having a fabulous Saturday.

  15. Hi Brenda, Sorry about your episode earlier this week. That’s skeery. And I am going to fuss. Why did you drive by yourself? Glad you are all better now. Medications can do funny things to you sometimes. Hope you are having a fabulous Saturday.

  16. Thanks for the shout out, Brenda. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the little video. And your miracles are anything but ordinary…beautiful!

  17. Hi Brenda, Just checking up on you. Hope you are feeling better.

  18. Good morning. Hope you have a good day today.

  19. PS I tagged you today…if you would like to participate. I thought it would be fun and nice to get to know some of my new blogger friends. 🙂

  20. But Brenda YOU are an AMAZING photographer! ((hugs)) Your pictures are just beautiful AND you have a green thumb, while I sadly have a black one. I wish we lived near each other and we could play with our cameras together… I still basically just turn it on, turn the flash off, and shoot!
    I’ve enjoyed catching up with you today! So glad you are feeling better!!!

    xo,
    Kim


Leave a Reply

Categories

