Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 14, 2008

Just Because

Img_1763_2

This Monday morning, by mere happenstance, I came across a blog that gave me more than pause…

I was so touched, so moved, that I went outside to my favorite and most beloved place on earth: my gardens. Where I went about the chore of cleaning the pond while I wept.

It reminded me of a post I wrote last week, in which I brought up the "not so pretty" things that stop us in our tracks. For those of you who will, I ask you to go visit this strong, gifted, amazing woman who has been dealt a bad hand. The blog is called My Quill And Pen.

I had a delightfully amusing post all planned for today. But this entry I have decided to share with you instead.

Upon coming back inside, after standing in my gardens taking in the beauty of it all, I sat down and wrote this:

____________________________________________________________

Just Because

Just because you live…in a pretty little house

With pretty little pictures on the wall

Just because you joke…when you really want to cry

And no one really gets the drift at all

Just because the sun comes up…and it makes you smile

And makes the whole wide world a better place

Just because you love…and open up your arms

That big smile may mean nothing on their face

Just because you want it…it may not come your way

Nor is it always even meant to be

Because you see…sometimes there just is not

An open gate that means that you are free

Just because you have…money for nice things

And the pantry is most always filled with food

You have to look close…at someone you may love

And know they’ll never change their attitude

So if you think that just because…there are always flowers in the vase

Please look closer at it all…because it’s not just a pretty place.

_________________________________________________________

May the sun shine brightly on all of you, my dear friends, on this mid-summer day.

Responses

  1. It hurts to know someone is always hungry or hurting or cold on and on… You never know how it is on the other side of the fence ,it might look all green and rosy but in the house its grey and black.Been there, don’t want to go back ever.I feel a kindred with those who are hurting somehow I think you do too.
    Diane

  2. I went to visit Alex’s site. She is definitely gifted. Her writing surely makes you stop & think. I love her ballet journal & am thinking about reading it together with my daughter. (she dances, as you know). Maybe there will be some life lessons in there that we can both learn together. 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  3. And this Dear Heat is why I have you linked on my blog. Your heart is big and I like you very much. My prayers will be with her to feel better.

  4. Just because you’re such an extraordinary human being, I’m genuinely proud and glad of having the privilege to read your blog. The connection your kind spirit sends out through the wire is something more than just a garden blog, or garden blogger. And I’m sure all of us are happy to know you, even only ‘through the wire’.

  5. I was taken back by your visit to my site today. Thank you for your care and concern. It was funny that I came to your page, and right before you wrote about me, there was a picture posted of dragonflies. I absolutely love dragonflies! I don’t know you, but it means alot for you to do what you did today…for me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

  6. A beautiful poem, Brenda — I surely understand the sentiment, and what a lovely reminder. I’m off to visit My Quill and Pen. 🙂

  7. Hi Brenda,

    What a stunning poem you wrote today. Been there too!

    I’m so glad you found Alex’s blog. She is a very special woman.

    hugs,
    Barb

  8. Hi Brenda,
    Thank you for sharing about Alex today. I have gone over and introduced myself. She lives very close to me.

    Hugs,
    LeAnn:)

  9. That is beautiful!!

  10. Brenda, this is hard. So many people today don’t take the time to reach out to someone who is really hurting. Thanks for stopping us in our tracks.
    Shelia 😉

  11. Brenda, come visit me at my blog – I have a little award for you!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  12. Thank you Brenda for sharing both about Alex, as well as your poetry. Both have touched my heart.

  13. I haven’t visited your blog for a while and one of your posts (a picture of a lone tree)and the comments had me crying.

    I also visited Alex’s blog today and offered some comfort.

    God bless you.

    XOXO

  14. Amen!

  15. That was beautiful Brenda. The poem and the post about dear Alex.

    hugs,
    rue


Leave a Reply

Categories

