Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 7, 2008

Something To Remember

Img_0268

We bloggers tend to write about the good stuff. The meaningful anniversaries, the wondrous events in our lives. But sometimes, we are like the tree above. Barren in our loneliness, ensconced in our grief, or otherwise filled with sadness. Sometimes we are going through things that are difficult. And it is quite often these times when we can help others the most.

I am not a font of wisdom, certainly. Far, far from it. But when people take the time to write to me, it is usually not to address the funny events I often write about. It is about the experiences that have been filled with nostalgia, uncertainty, or heartache. Because it touched upon something that they too are going through.

So I hope it is not presumptuous of me to say this. To all of the wonderful and talented bloggers out there; whether you write about gardening, art, crafts, decorating, or whatever it mostly pertains to: please keep this thought in mind. Remember that all of us are human. And most of us who would be reading this post in the first place, (readers and bloggers alike) are typically other women. And as such, I think it is good that we sometimes address our own life experiences. That in so doing we might reach out and touch someone else who may be going through that very thing.

And who might feel so much better, just knowing they are not alone in their struggle. Whatever it may be.

Responses

  1. You’re exactly right, Brenda. We all have a lot in common besides our successes and projects. Different people blog for different reasons. Our blog is supposed to be a detail of our journey, and we have to remind ourselves that it’s not just the projects that make the journey, but the people. Not just the successes, but the failures. And it’s very refreshing to find out we’re not the only ones out here who aren’t leading charmed lives 🙂 Thanks for reinforcing that!

  2. Hi Brenda, those are great thoughts today! I tend to be a Pollyanna sort of gal and really don’t dwell on things I can do nothing about that come into my life. Things come my way that make me sad, mad, hurt..all the rest we face as women. But today I’m doing great! Well, let’s see…it’s 1:04 pm and I’m still in my gown. How’s that?
    You know I’m just being a silly.
    Be a sweetie and come to my tea party tomorrow!
    Shelia 😉

  3. Very well said. I agree. I just don’t blog about lifes challenges I guess. I have many but I don’t really feel like spilling doom and gloom. I could write a book!!! LOL Oh well I will keep that in mind and try to post a tid bit here and there(-: If anyone has a problem I am a good listener(-:

  4. So beautifully said, dear friend. And you are a font of wisdom. You really all. Thank you for spilling over to share.

    The tree is fabulous! So we are, each with our roots going down further than we could ever imagine.

  5. An excellent point, Brenda!

  6. Brenda,

    I think in our quest to write, we do tend to focus only on the good things. I’m so glad you took the time to remind me why I started to blog.

    I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis and some days just getting out of bed is hard and then I have to go to work.

    I try focus on the positive and always try to remember there are people much worse off than me. If I can encourage one person to be happier that’s my goal. And I do want them to feel free to tell me, when life isn’t perfect.

    Gretchen

  7. Good point Brenda….I know that we all have our ups and downs. It is only natural for me, at least to not talk about the down part…I try to stay positive…
    Penny

  8. Thank you Brenda,..I to fall short sharing lifes up and downs… It’s easy to give em what they want to hear, read , and see. I do open up from time to time. It’s mainly about my Brother that passed away a few years back. I do find that we all get caught up in our blogs .. making and selling and teaching… I do understand what you are talking about. I will do a post soon and give yall a look inside… It may not be pretty! Thanks Brenda.. Hope you have tissues ready… ((hugs)) Susie h~

  9. I love your heart, Brenda! It is good to know our blogging friends are with us in good times and bad.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  10. I love your heart, Brenda! It is good to know our blogging friends are with us in good times and bad.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  11. I love your heart, Brenda! It is good to know our blogging friends are with us in good times and bad.

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  12. what a lovely post. I’m an open book about my life although I tend to blog mostly about the positive. thanks for reminding us that it’s okay to show the sad & stressful times. 🙂 chris

  13. I have been there several times pouring out my heart and found a gathering of quiet angels extending their love with kind words…that lifted my spirit.
    This was a well written post.

  14. What a great post. We really do need to share our feelings. We might help someone along the way. Just knowing someone out there understands is often enough to ease our way.

  15. Amen, and Amen! Truer words were never spoken. Thanks for reminding us to just “be human”; that is what connects us to each other.
    Also, thanks Brenda, for your words of wisdom and encouragement. I am ready (I hope) to give blogging a try!!!

  16. Brenda, this was a truly kind and thoughtful post.

    I think everyone deals with life’s ups and downs in different ways. I tend to try to focus on the positive because for me it seems to help to resolve the negative. I deal best with life by always looking for the positive.

    I have a friend that needs to get her negative feelings out in the open, and I try to be supportive of her.

    We just need to remember the grass is not always greener on the other side.

    Thank your for making us stop and think about ways we can support each other.

  17. Hi Brenda – Thank you for this post. It gives me the freedom to say what is really going on in my life. I read many blogs, and all the ladies seem so happy and joyful with their gardens and crafts. I find myself feeling alone, as I have a nice garden and lots of craft projects. But, if the truth be known, I am dying inside. My marriage is not good – I feel like I have a roommate instead of a husband. There is fighting, name calling, etc. I want out and he wants out, yet we can’t bring ourselves to file for divorce. And I fear how I will make it financially, as I’ve never had to work. So, there you have it. I look out at my garden and see beauty, but inside the walls of this house, it is anything but happy and pretty. Sorry to be negative – this is just my life right now. Thank you for opening the discussion and allowing me to share!
    Debbie

  18. You are so right Brenda. I’ve been avoiding the stuff that isn’t as fun to talk about recently (house stuff) because I think that people don’t want to listen to a lot of whining, but everytime I share my feelings people seem to understand and gather around. Thank you for reminding me that it doesn’t always have to be sugar 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  19. Hi Brenda
    Bad times are common to all of us and I have had my share of them too. Right now in our lives some very stressful things are going on. That’s why I like reading blogs. They are cheerful beautiful and positive. We all struggle at one time or another and I love the “escape” that blogging provides. I guess I am a Pollyanna at heart!
    Hugs, Rhondi

  20. How this post hit home. Yes, we all certainly do go through the ebb and flow of emotions, depression and difficult times. It is nice to know there is a community who understands this and still sticks around through these times. Usually I don’t express these times directly but my art certainly reflects the these down times, like my entry “a day with no words”.
    Thanks for writing this blog post, it is just what I needed today.
    Sending you some good vibes,
    Patty

  21. So true, Brenda! It takes courage to share some very personal feelings, but people are touched and helped. We never know how our words might be just what someone needs to hear at that moment.
    Blessings!
    Diane

  22. Hello !

    Your post was thoughtful and interesting, and of course your right that we should always remember someone out there is going through something in their lives.We are after all just human.
    Diane

  23. Thank YOU, Brenda for these post… God has certainly inspired you to write this for I think the question of coexistence does not enter here, but the question of union and fellowship does…. Thank you again.

    Hugs

    cielo

  24. Thank you Brenda for the reminder.
    🙂

  25. Thank you Brenda for the reminder.
    🙂

  26. Brenda, you & I have discussed this very thing many times. I am glad you finally wrote about it. Yes, it’s nice to hear about all the great stuff and wonderful treasures people write about day in & day out. But what about the everyday stuff? I was heart broken when I wrote “Cupcake & Tears”. It took me a couple of days to get over, but overall, the responses I got were wonderful & I am thankful for that. We should all be encouraged by your post & write about the “real” stuff for time to time as well as the wonderful finds & precious memories. Thanks for sharing your views. xoxo, Joanna

  27. (((Brenda)))
    Like snowflakes, all bloggers are unique YET one thing that I feel we do have in common is our compassion and love for each other.. no matter what we choose to share, there is always a loving soul to reach out and lend support and a virtual hug. Thank you for sharing your thoughts – and thank you for sharing YOUR SOUL.

    Love,
    Kim

  28. Amen to that Brenda.

  29. This is such a great post! And so very true. There have been a couple of posts that I wrote and as soon as I hit that “publish” button I thought “What did I do!??People are never going to come back!” But people were so suportive. Marc and I were blown away by all of the loving comments left with condolences on the loss of his grandfather. But, I admit, there have been posts that I was too timid to post……. I am going to rethink them now! The blogging community is a wonderful support group and you are right- we may never know how our issues may touch someone else and help them understand that they are not alone!!
    Beautiful job Brenda!! Thank you for this!
    -Cinderella 🙂

  30. Beautifully said. Brenda, your insight is appreciated. Life isn’t easy, and having the ear of someone like you is a blessing. Susan

  31. Just checking in on you today.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  32. You are so so right. What wonderful friends I have made here by sharing some of my troubles. Thanks Brenda for reminding us that it’s not always about the roses.

  33. You are so so right. What wonderful friends I have made here by sharing some of my troubles. Thanks Brenda for reminding us that it’s not always about the roses.

  34. You are so so right. What wonderful friends I have made here by sharing some of my troubles. Thanks Brenda for reminding us that it’s not always about the roses.

  35. I so agree. Thank you for saying it. Sometimes blog reading can be hard (as much as I love it) because it seems that everything is perfect and sanitized. It can be depressing to see only the perfect parts of everyone’s lives…not that every post should be a vent or high drama…but honesty is always n nice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

