Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 6, 2008

Cute Critter In The Garden

Img_1628

I’ve been complaining for months now that I haven’t seen a frog in my garden. Well, I don’t know much about frogs and toads. And exactly what constitutes what. But look at this cute little critter! I spied it in the small aloe pot I just started a few weeks ago!

I’m outside with the dogs this morning, and see that some transplants are looking rather haggard and droopy. So I get the hose, figuring I’ll give them a dose before the East Texas heat sets in for the day.

I’m watering away. And suddenly I see this "blink" out of the corner of my eye. Now I love my garden, as everyone knows, but when I see something "blinking," I get a little gun-shy and feel the hairs on the back of my neck start to salute. I turn around and there it is in all its amphibious glory. Why this tiny little pot, I ask any of you who know much about these things?

Img_1627

I’m not fond of scaly skin myself. But isn’t he/she a cutie pie?

Img_1625

I was afraid Abi and Charlie were going to "spy" the cute little critter too. So I quickly turned off the hose and steered them into the house, promising treats. I didn’t want to see scaly skin flying about the yard.

I just now went back out again. (Abi goes out quite often in the morning after her Lasix pill. She has a heart condition at the ripe old age of not quite two years old!) And said critter was gone. Made me a little sad.

I guess this old standby will have to do. He’s been guarding over the garden for some time. And he’s cute enough. Even without the blinking eyes.

Img_1629 

I know one of you knowledgable-about-such-things smarty pants is going to set me straight on the difference between a frog and a toad. So I keep the dictionary right by the computer. I’ll give her a look myself.

Frog: 1.any of various smooth-skinned web-footed largely aquatic tailless agile leaping amphibians. Compare toad. 2. the triangular elastic horny pad in the middle of the sole of the foot of a horse. 3. a loop attached to a belt to hold a weapon or tool. (And it goes on and on! Who knew?)

Toad: 1. any of numerous anuran (?) amphibians (esp. family Bufonidae) that as compared with the related frogs are generally more terrestrial in habit though returning to water to lay eggs…yada, yada,yada. 2. a contemptible person or thing.

Sounds like a lot of double-talk to me. Except for the last sentence. I’ve met a few of those in my time!


Responses

  1. Brenda .. darn funny girl ! I have met a few TOADS in my life too .. but I wouldn’t mind either a toad or a frog in my garden .. maybe they would eat those horrible Japanese beetles on my Stargazers .. UGH !!!
    Great picture of the critter too !
    Joy : )
    PS .. we have not seen the raccoon in quite a while .. contractors coming this week to fix that area under the eve .. BIG sigh ! Hope that is the end of THAT !!!

  2. Aw, isn’t he sweet! I think he’s our resident toad’s 2nd cousin. I can see the family resemblance. Our little guy has hollowed out a couple of nice, cool resting spots in some small pots where coneflower seedlings are sizing up before going into the garden. He’s startled me more than once jumping out of the pots when I’ve been watering them.

    Our toad seems to like to come out at night too, while the sprinkler is going. He enjoys the gentle showers (and the slugs that come out to feast on the hostas in the cool of the evening! 🙂 You go little toad! Enjoy your slug fest!

  3. Oh that is funny. Watch out or it will jump up your pant leg.

  4. Frog, toad whatever……It’s kinda cute in an ugly sort of way. I’m like you , critters in the garden scare me. How can big ole me be scared of such a little thing!
    We tried to keep some toads at our pond but they never stay around,maybe they’re just hiding.
    Hugs, DebraK

  5. Oh, I love to see frogs/toads (I’m like you whichever they are) around my plants and on my front porch eating bugs from under the light. Eat those bugs little (actually kind of big) frog!!!!

  6. Glad you finally got your amphibian in your garden. This means you must have a good home for it.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  7. Good afternoon, Brenda. Oh, what a little cutie. I don’t know the difference either between a frog or a toad, but this one has nice big eyes. I’ll bet he’ll be back tonight hopping around.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  8. Lucky you! I would love to have several of them in my garden.

  9. Lucky you! I would love to have several of them in my garden.

  10. Lucky you! I would love to have several of them in my garden.

  11. When I was a child, living in Texas, we called these critters Toads and would catch them. Of course we soon released them. They were very easy to catch.

    Have a wonderful week!
    Pat

  12. He is a cutie. I bet he returns.

  13. I love them whether they be toads or frogs! We just put in a small toad the end of May and immediately bought plants and 6 tadpoles. One has made his transformation, lost one, and have four others in various stages. So fun to watch! 🙂 Rosie

  14. I love them whether they be toads or frogs! We just put in a small toad the end of May and immediately bought plants and 6 tadpoles. One has made his transformation, lost one, and have four others in various stages. So fun to watch! 🙂 Rosie

  15. I love them whether they be toads or frogs! We just put in a small toad the end of May and immediately bought plants and 6 tadpoles. One has made his transformation, lost one, and have four others in various stages. So fun to watch! 🙂 Rosie

  16. Frogs, toads…which ever they are, they are great! I collect frogs. When I was little there was a small petroleum storage area behind my aunt’s house and puddles collected under and around the tanks and we would go back there and watch the tadpoles swim. Watching their progress from a tiny tadpole to the transformation of a frog was so fastinating to me! I like your blog, come on over to my place for a visit. God Bless! Celene

  17. HOLY COW – TOAD, FROG? Are you kidding me? Cute? EEK!!! I’d be screaming and jumping up and down and running for cover! Yikes! I’ve never seen one so HUGE! Glad you got your wish, though!

    Hope you had a lovely weekend!

    Happy day to you!

  18. Oh it is a cutie! My Aunt used to say Toads and Frogs hang out in happy gardens! You must be doing somethig right!! I also think they are cute. Not sure why but I do!!
    Hope you had a great weekend!
    -Heather 🙂

  19. Ha! It took me a minute to find him in your pot. He is adorable! 🙂

    Teresa
    xo

  20. ribbitttt(-: I love frogs(-: I think they go into the cooler areas during the day. Check under a rock or somewhere they could dig into the earth to stay cool(-: There just might be a lot more then you know about(-:

  21. Just tooo funny! Thanks for the laugh! And great photos, too!

  22. We used to play with toads as children….everyone always warned we would get warts from them (old wifes tale). You had to be careful when picking them up, because they always pee’d when you did – lol.
    Penny

  23. I am terrified of frogs/toads, always have been since I was little, they’re icky slimy things. I scream blue bl**dy murder when I find one in my garden. In my mind’s eye they are at least 6 feet wide and 3 feet high…..more often than not they are a lot smaller than the palm of my hand.

    Gill from Canada

  24. I love him 🙂 We used to get a lot of frogs/toads at the house in Virginia, but we don’t have as many in this yard. I think it has to do with shady spots and water, which we don’t have much of. I hope he comes back 🙂

  25. I was recently commenting to my hubby about seeing no frogs this year. i’ve only noticed one or two usually in my flowerpot. They are usually in previous years abundant…especially around the pond.

  26. Hi Brenda, I have commented to my DH several times that we are not hearing the frogs at night like we usually do. Not sure what’s up with that. We were cleaning out the bird houses the other day and found a frog in one. Scared the heck out of me at first. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

