Posted by: Brenda Kula | July 2, 2008

Cutie From Etsy

Img_1576

Is this not the cutest little set of pincushions you’ve ever seen! Beth from Beths Bagz made this and I ordered it last week. Beth has the sweetest blog. That’s how I met her. Then I saw that she made things for Etsy. And if you haven’t shopped Etsy, you haven’t shopped. It is all handmade items. These women are so imaginative!

And Beth, I was so delighted with the way it was packaged. I was like a child at Christmas opening this delightful box. And so impressed that you added little extras along with my order!

Anyway, I have this set of pincushions (and it came with the plate in those little cupcake papers) next to my computer so I can just stare at it!

It’s wonderful that there is a place like Etsy for people to sell their handmade creations. You can’t imagine what all you can find.

On to the garden…

Img_1564

Sedum Autumn Joy is about to bloom.

Img_1548

My neighbor shared this with me, and I planted it in a somewhat shady spot. I love the deep purple leaves shaped like triangles.

Img_1551

I don’t know what I’m going to do if this Elephant’s Ear in the pond gets any bigger! I’ve tied the stalks to keep it from falling over. I suppose I’ll have repot it. It’s looking like the jolly green giant of the pond!

Img_1557

The crepe myrtle trees have glorious blooms right now.

Img_1561

Img_1563

Img_1562

I just love the shape of the leaves on this geranium. It comes back year after year. And I don’t over-winter it inside either.

Img_1567 

We’re all concerned about the people affected by these storms and fires of late. I was reading Newsweek last night. And yes, it says global warming is the cause of this year’s extreme weather. It seems downpours have increased so much that "100 year storms" now strike some areas every 15 years!

It said that "only in this decade have "attribution" studies managed to finger greenhouse gases as the chief cause of the rising mercury, rather than a hotter sun or cyclical changes. The last two produce a different pattern of climate change than man-made warming does."

Scary news. One clue, it seems, is that global warming has caused the jet stream to shift north. A lot of technical information. But the bottom line is not to blame Mother Nature.

Responses

  1. Those are cute pincushions(-: I have all the same things blooming in my garden too. The elephant ears are really cool. Mine are not growing to well. Maybe cuz they are not in the pond? I saw some at a local nursery and they were in a pot under a shady area so that is what I did with mine. Might need more water.

  2. Hi Brenda , those are the cutest pin cushions ! I haven’t been to Etsy, I will have to take a look . Your flowers are so pretty .

  3. Hi Brenda,
    Cute pincushions – there are so many great things on Etsy!
    I love your garden, it’s beautiful as always. Geraniums are great – I’ve still got a huge plant that started as a small one I took from my grandma’s garden years and years ago, it’s withstood much heat in our backyard and still thrives.
    Thank you for your thoughts of all those suffering during this time with fire/weather issues. You’re a sweetheart and absolutely correct about Mother Nature!
    xo~Tracie

  4. I can’t remember how long since I have checked out ETSY..I am a member and intended to sell a few things handmade on there. But you know what they say about good intentions..haha….. I love those little pincushions.

    Your flowers are so pretty and the mention of the Crepe Myrtle reminds me, I need to go check mine out. I had to cut it back, because it is under a Pecan tree and I didn’t have the heart to cut either one down, so I just try to keep the Myrtle cut back to shrub form.

  5. Hi Brenda 🙂

    That is one BIG elephant ear LOL

    I love crepe myrtle trees. I wonder if I can grow them here… hmmm…

    Those pin cushions are just precious! I need to go shopping 😉

    hugs,
    rue

  6. Afternoon, Brenda! Oh, now how sweet are these little pin cushions! Is there any room for pins? They’re a little bit too cute for pins! Your flowers are looking extra pretty today, too. Have a wonderful time with the little pin cushions. I needed them…go to my blog today and you’ll see why they would have come in handy.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  7. Your blooms are great! I’d love to be able to plant Taro but have no where to over winter it. So I will drool over yours!

  8. Your blooms are great! I’d love to be able to plant Taro but have no where to over winter it. So I will drool over yours!

  9. Your blooms are great! I’d love to be able to plant Taro but have no where to over winter it. So I will drool over yours!

  10. Those pincushions are really cute. Now go out in the garage and get your bicycle. I’ll be over to pick you up and we’ll ride together.

    Hugs,
    LeAnn:)

  11. I haven’t opened my Newsweek yet, sounds like an interesting article, I’ll look forward to it.

    You sure have a lovely garden!

  12. Brenda lots happening in your garden! Love the elephant ears!! I have a small pond hummmm…for next year!
    I love all your fur friends on your sidebar as I scroll down your post!
    Smooches to them all!! :)NG

  13. A fun find, Brenda. My, you are getting great shots with your camera 😉

  14. Hi Brenda, don’t ya just love those stinkin’ cute pin cushions! Beth will be so pleased when she gets back from vacation and sees your blog. As always I am drooling over your pretty garden. Mine is a bit droopy from the heat and lack of water here :-< Have a great holiday weekend! xo, suzy

  15. Hi Brenda!
    Your flowers are so pretty ~ I love coming over and seeing what new lovelies you have in the garden!! I have a pot of those deep purple triangles right beside my back door. They are really neat because they close up at night and if they get dry. Gorgeous, gorgeous crepe myrtles, too!!
    Hugs, Bebe 🙂

  16. Your garden looks incredible!!! WOnderful photos and great Etsy goodies!! Thanks so much for stopping by the flag parade to celebrate the Fourth!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  17. Your garden looks incredible!!! WOnderful photos and great Etsy goodies!! Thanks so much for stopping by the flag parade to celebrate the Fourth!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  18. Your garden looks incredible!!! WOnderful photos and great Etsy goodies!! Thanks so much for stopping by the flag parade to celebrate the Fourth!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  19. Those are the cutest pin cushions… I will have to go and check her out. Thanks for that tip! Susie H~

  20. Brenda, I love your blog! Your garden is so pretty too! I’m a big fan of Etsy myself. ;o) I’ll be mailing your pincushion to you in the morning. I love Beth’s pincushions too. One day I’ll actually be able to afford one. They’re just gorgeous!

  21. Brenda, I love your blog! Your garden is so pretty too! I’m a big fan of Etsy myself. ;o) I’ll be mailing your pincushion to you in the morning. I love Beth’s pincushions too. One day I’ll actually be able to afford one. They’re just gorgeous!

  22. Brenda, I love your blog! Your garden is so pretty too! I’m a big fan of Etsy myself. ;o) I’ll be mailing your pincushion to you in the morning. I love Beth’s pincushions too. One day I’ll actually be able to afford one. They’re just gorgeous!

  23. I just found your blog. I am loving my visit here. Your flowers are all so beautiful….Happy 4th…Mary

  24. You’re plants are awesome! You really have a green thumb! I discovered your blog not long ago & have really enjoyed seeing your garden! Patti

  25. Your garden is looking wonderful! I love the Elephant Ears!
    Penny

  26. Morning Brenda! I just wanted to pop in and wish you a very happy fourth of July!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  27. Oh, don’t you just love Beths Bagz?! She makes the cutest stuff.
    Thanks for sharing the Newsweek info.
    Alisa

  28. Brenda, Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! Loved the tour of your flowers! You definetely have a green thumb, as they are all so beautiful! And you have so many interesting varieties! Hope you have a great 4th! And don’t be a stranger…come back again! 😉
    ~Rhonda

  29. First of all thank you for your kind words today. Thy mean s much to me and I am going to have Marc read it too!
    SO many wonderful posts from you the last few days! Oh I a so far behind! I alays enjoy your posts and you pictures are stunning! This garden makes me happy and I can only see it thru pictureso I can only imagin the joy it brings you!
    Cute little baby birds in a preious post! I loe baby birds. What adorable pin cushions! My Aunt and Uncle have an Etsy store to and I just love that there is suc an outlet for these creative people to share heir labors with so many!!
    Have a great 4th of July!!!
    -Cinderella 🙂

  30. Oh good gracious! Please excuse all of the misspellings from the last comment. Apparently I am even more tired than I thought!
    -Cinderella 🙂

  31. love your new push pins! xoxo, Joanna

  32. What an honor and a thrill to see my creations on your blog, my dear friend!~~~So fab to come home from vacation and find your lovely entry. It was an honor to sell to you :)))))))~~~~XXOO, Beth


Leave a Reply

Categories

