Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 28, 2008

Fun Whimsical Things

Img_1528

Last night I laid in bed and drooled over the newest issue of Romantic Homes magazine. It’s the August issue. I have to admit I almost canceled my subscription recently when mine was running out. I am SO glad I didn’t!

For a while there, I wasn’t so sure it had enough of "my stuff." But now, they’re highlighting things that are right up my alley. You cannot miss this issue, darlings, if you like to showcase your collections!

Img_1523

And this cute little book full of whimsical pincushions. It’s almost sweet enough to leave out on your coffee table.

Img_1527

Well, you can tell I’m eclectic. How about some blue marbles in an old vintage jar, a pin cushion, another jar full of old thread. Beads…and of course a bird!

Img_1525

A kitchen server full of sewing notions…

Img_1524

Crystal full of metallic thread…

Img_1526

A little gold bowl full of ribbons…

And oh, just for the heck of it, let’s just add a photo of today’s gorgeous water lily?

Img_1521

Have a delightful weekend!

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda, I came on over to see that picture of that beautiful yellow water lily! Aren’t they just the prettiest flowers? To bad they don’t last that long. Only my yellow ones are blooming this year, I don’t know what happened to my other ones.
    I didn’t renew my subscription and I could kick myself. Now I have to go out and buy one!
    Love, Ann

  2. I hope you’re having a good weekend, too! Your little collections are very whimsical. 🙂

  3. BRENDA! I have that book and love it! It was a late purchase..I didn’t get it even though I wanted it and suddenly it landed on my desk!

    I have lots of ideas for the holidays, though that picture of the simple jar of red hots from one of your older posts has really inspired me!

  4. Hi Brenda! Still trying to work up the energy to reorganize my sewing notions 🙂

    Your water lily is gorgeous. We just put a small little pond in this spring that still needs plants around it and rocks. Perhaps next year we can get a water lily!

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  5. Hi Brenda! Still trying to work up the energy to reorganize my sewing notions 🙂

    Your water lily is gorgeous. We just put a small little pond in this spring that still needs plants around it and rocks. Perhaps next year we can get a water lily!

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  6. Hi Brenda! Still trying to work up the energy to reorganize my sewing notions 🙂

    Your water lily is gorgeous. We just put a small little pond in this spring that still needs plants around it and rocks. Perhaps next year we can get a water lily!

    ((hugs)) Rosie

  7. Every time that I am considering not renewing a magazine subscription, the editors always start featuring items or articles that interest me, and I’, hooked for another year. Looks like the same thing happens to you too.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  8. All very important things!! Cute displays too(-: Thanks for sharing and I Hope your weekend is great too!!!!

  9. Brenda, I love a gal that is eclectic! All of your pictures are filled with fun!
    Penny

  10. I have that same water lily that opened up this a.m.! So exciting after it survived the long cold winter in the pond.!

  11. I am wanting that pincushion book so bad. I have made a few for a group on flickr. They are so much fun to make, and easy. I love all your pretty things. Wonderful blog.

  12. Such nice ways of displaying notions. Still think you need to come over here and straighten me up.

  13. That is one of my favorite magazines. So many good ideas.

    You have inspired me to do a little organizing.

    Have a great weekend,
    Barb

  14. brenda .. I have a few minutes when I’m not raccoon crazy .. love the colourful pictures .. threads in a jar fascinate me with such pretty colours ! and that water lily .. can there be anything as beautiful as that I ask you … well, maybe seeing the raccoon in a cage leaving my HOUSE for good ? LOL
    Joy

  15. Hi Brenda,

    Thank you for visiting me at my blog and for taking the time to comment. I am new to your blog, too, and just love it. We have very similar interests!

    My fav magazine is Romantic Homes. I like it because there are very few ads. Romantic Country is also a fav, too. I cannot wait to get the new issue as it looks like some awesome sweetness on the cover!

    Have a happy and safe 4th. Adding you to my list so I can be back for more visits.

    ((hugs))
    Becky


Leave a Reply

Categories

