Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 27, 2008

Organizing Sewing Supplies

Img_1511

After I wrote the post last week on old Singer sewing machines, it motivated me to get out all my fabric and sewing stash from the closet and put it out where I can see it. And perhaps be more inspired to use it!

Img_1508

I arranged fabric. I got out all my beads and trims and embroidery thread.

Img_1510

See my Vintage Vavoom book out on full display? I just adore this book. I’ve thumbed through it over and over again. Thank you, you talented editors of Romantic Homes magazine.

Img_1515

It was lots of fun. Going through boxes and finding out just what I did have. That way I don’t go out and buy what I already have! Which I’ve done quite often.

I looked for fun ways to display all the simple things I normally don’t see. But you know what, I like to look at utilitarian things like pins and needles and thimbles and ribbon. So why not decorate with it? Who makes the rules on these things anyway? We do!

If you like something, get it out and put it where you can see it. It doesn’t need to be in a drawer just because it isn’t traditionally thought of as a decorative item.

Img_1518

See that book lying at the edge of the red table? I just picked that up the other day at Barnes & Noble. It’s Pretty Little Pincushions. And it is one cute book.

Img_1517

I must say, I read lots of blogs every day. I regularly keep up with probably close to a hundred and growing as I find more I like. (Obviously, I don’t manage to get a whole heck of a lot else done!) I’ve never seen such a talented bunch in my life. You bloggers are so savvy about decorating and creating cute little vignettes and crafting unusual things I’ve never in a million years even thought of. You take phenomenal photos, write beautiful posts, and make everyone’s life a little happier. 

You fill my life with color and sunshine and I cherish you all! And I spend a good bit of my time sitting at this computer keeping up on your day-to-day lives.

And I thank you for reading my little blog too!

Responses

  1. Brenda, I finally made it here! And I’m so happy that I did!!! What a gorgeous blog. I love all of this color. We definnitely share a love of bright colors. Your button jar is fabulous. I’m going to be returning OFTEN!
    I have sent you an email this morning. Thank you for your very kind note while my Mother was in the hospital.
    Hugs,
    Cookie

  2. Great post, Brenda! Everything is so organized and beautiful!

    I’ve just finished reading your thought provoking previous post, too. Thank you!

    Have a great weekend!
    Pat

  3. I just love your crafting area, I could spend my time in there and not surface for a good longtime!!
    Very organized and ohhhh sooooo pretty,I see lots of fun stuff to create.I just love your blog too, your a sweet genuine person, you keep me coming back for more.See ya in a week Im leaving tommorow to see my daughter for a week,I need the change of scenery.
    Take care,
    Diane

  4. What fun to see what you did Brenda. 🙂

  5. Hi Brenda,
    I’m impressed! It would take me two weeks probably to get all my things organized (and that would mean no blogging at all!).
    It looks wonderful the way you’ve displayed everything – and that Vintage Vavoom – I still have to purchase that book, I’m behind on the times in everything these days 😉
    Have a great weekend!
    xo~Tracie

  6. I love your fabric cabinet! I would find that truly inspiring.

  7. Wow! You are so organized! I love seeing all the stacks of fabrics. I admire anyone who can sew…I have a battle with my sewing machine every time I take it out….
    Penny

  8. I love your multicolor pile of cloth. That is so pretty. Mine is all packed in boxes that you can’t see through. And in the basement. It is such a pain when I want to do something with it.

  9. Everything looks so wonderful!
    I just got my copy of Vintage Vavoom this week and I’m loving it!
    I’ve had my eye on that pincushion book too!

  10. I find that lately I’m spending my spare time reading blogs instead of posting on my own blog, or doing much around my house.
    I’m about to start a to do list for my home projects and maybe I can get organized.
    I was jealous of you this week. I wished I had time to decorate lamps or do something else crafty!

  11. Hi Brenda!
    Oh I just LOVE this! I love fabric and needles and thread- anything to do with sewing! I always have to put mine away after using it each time so that the kids don’t get into it! Someday I will have a proper sewing room!
    I adore the color coded stacking of your fabrics in that beautiful cupboard! You are a woman after my own heart!!!
    Thanks for your sweet words today. I think I am just going to end up doing that! I have never been stuck on a room like I am in that master! Goodness!
    Have a great evening sweetie!
    -Cinderella 🙂

  12. It’s so true that if you don’t see something, you might just go out and buy it all over again! I like to have things put away because I don’t like clutter (although you’d never know that by looking in my cluttered studio), but then again, if it was all out where I could see everything I’d have no room to work. Such a dilemma…

  13. Hello Brenda! I have only just discovered your blog but I am glad I did. You made yourself a beautiful & colorful sewing/crafting area. That makes much more sense to have it all out in the open (as opposed to be stored in a bin in the back of the closet with stuff piled high on top of it, like my stuff is!) Functional & Beautiful! I love the fabrics folded in the glass cabinet – reminds me of special old quilts. I’m going to add you to my blog list so I can come back and visit again real soon! 🙂 ~ Laurie

  14. Brenda– you brighten my life so much. I’m grateful for all your blogging– for sharing so much of your life. You inspire me to beautiful, gracious living. And maybe I’ll even start to get some things organized. LOL!
    hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  15. Hi Brenda, great pictures and I envy your fabric stash because I have let mine get SO OUT OF CONTROL!! xo, suzy

  16. Wow your room looks great! I could do something creative with all of that sweet stuff! Thanks for sharing your room, Susie H~

  17. WOW I’m impressed. Now would you pretty please come and organize mine? I have the Romantic Homes book too. It is one of favs. I’ll have to check out the pincushion book next time I’m at Barnes & Noble.

  18. Brenda, I love your sewing room. And your fabric curio is awesome. 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  19. Brenda, I need you to travel a few miles and come over here and make me organize my sewing stuff. Seriously, that looks nice. My old singer could use some decorating.

  20. I like how neat you have all your fabrics folded. Mine are a mess! Now I feel like going to my craft room and cleaning it. LOL
    I would like to see your yellow lily flower. Only my yellow lilies are blooming this year. I don’t know what happened to the rest! Do you also have a Koi pond?

  21. Hi Brenda
    You are so great at taking the time to leave me a conmmnet and I wanted to make sure you know ho wmuch I appreciate it even If I don’t respond back every time.
    I love how you organized all your sewing supplies. Isn’t it satisfying being able to see where everything is and being able to find it.
    Now I hope you can tear your self away from all those awesome blogs out there and do some creating.
    Hugs, Rhondi

  22. Wonderful job! I am constantly wasting time searching for supplies that I know I have but can’t find. This post was very inspirational! Now I should get off the computer and begin to organize ….. maybe I’ll read just a couple other blogs first ….. HA!

  23. Wonderful job! I am constantly wasting time searching for supplies that I know I have but can’t find. This post was very inspirational! Now I should get off the computer and begin to organize ….. maybe I’ll read just a couple other blogs first ….. HA!

  24. Wonderful job! I am constantly wasting time searching for supplies that I know I have but can’t find. This post was very inspirational! Now I should get off the computer and begin to organize ….. maybe I’ll read just a couple other blogs first ….. HA!

  25. No, thank you Brenda for making OUR lives brighter 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  26. I would love to be that organized! What a beautiful job you did!
    Blessings!
    Renee

  27. Thank you for all of that beautiful eye candy~so bright and cheery*!*

  28. WOW! Look at all of your fabrics!!! I don’t know if you know about this, but on my sidebar is a link to a Summer Stash Challenge to make a quilt of any size and any color by using stash of fabrics you already have.

    Love your sewing area and you did a fine job of organizing, too.

    Becky


Leave a Reply

Categories

