Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 23, 2008

We’re Decorating Lampshades Again!

Img_1447_2

I obviously can’t have plain lampshades. I just ache to get out all my trims and buttons and get to work. Today was one of those days.

Warm up the hot glue gun about 5-10 minutes. Clean your lampshades if they’re not brand new and still in plastic. To do this, I take a lint roller and run over it to make sure my surface is ready. Out come my trims!

Img_1464

I’m just going to add a bit of white cotton lace to this one. Run about an inch or so of hot glue along the edge, then gingerly place your trim. Try not to get burned!

Img_1465

Meet where you first started. I try to begin along a seam in the lampshade. Cut off the lace just a bit past that so you can overlap just a little. Then, what works for me is putting a dab of hot glue on the end to hold down the lace. It doesn’t seem to fray that way.

As you can see, I’m working in my kitchen where there’s a lot of light and ample space. Try to block out all the background chaos!

Img_1466

I added clear beads on another day. So this one is finished. At least for now! If I come across something else I want to add, I probably will. For now I just want a simple look, so the intricate lace is emphasized.

Img_1467

Now I’m going to add some bead trim to this one. Once I’ve got the hot glue gun warmed up, I try to do more than one project.

Img_1469

I’m going to cover the seam of the beads with some trim I had left over from some lampshades I decorated a few weeks ago.

Img_1471

Now I’ll start with this one. We’re going red with this white shade.

Img_1472

Now I’ll add a little different red trim across the bottom. I had already added the blue bead trim to the bottom of the shade another day.

Img_1473

Out comes the button jar!

Img_1474

I’m going to add some blue buttons to this, to go along with the blue and white lamp base. I pour out some buttons, pick some out and hope I have enough if I want a cohesive look!

Img_1475

Img_1476

Here it is placed on the lamp and turned on. I’m getting tired. It will do for now!

Img_1477

Img_1479

I’ve decoupaged lamp shades and added I don’t know what all to them! It’s fun and adds a personal touch to your decor. Use your imagination. Throw caution to the wind! Sometimes that’s when things turn out the best. If you decide you don’t like it, many times you can just cover it up with something else. I of course don’t use expensive lampshades either. So I don’t feel too guilty playing around with them!

It’s supper time. So I’m calling it quits for today!

Responses

  1. Oh that’s so gorgeous!!!
    I wish you lived closer I would have you do mine!!
    I esp love the last one its so nice!!
    take care,
    Diane

  2. wow– I am SO impressed! and I LOVE that button jar . ..

  3. You’re a very crafty gal, Brenda! I love them all, but I’m partial to that last one, too. 🙂

  4. Nicely done! how many lamps do you own?? LOL I’m going to nickname you the lamp queen or something to that nature. 🙂 Love your work! xoxo, Joanna

  5. Your lampshades look great! Nice job.

  6. That red lampshade is perfect on that lamp, and may I also say gorgeous! You are soooo creative. Susan

  7. Those are awesome shades. If I send you mine will you make them beautiful?

  8. I love each one of them! Oh what a fun way to add expensive style to cheap shades!! They look like you paid a fortune!
    I always burn my fingers with my gluegun!! LOL! Never fails!
    I think I am going to go decorate some shades and see what I come up with!! Thanks for the inspiration. Oh! Pretty lamps too!
    -Heather 🙂

  9. That is really cool!!! Thanks for sharing the how to pics.

  10. How crafty are you?!?
    Those are awesome*!*

  11. I am lovin the shades!!!!! They are beautiful:D

  12. Wow love your lamps, you are so creative!


Leave a Reply

Categories

