Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 19, 2008

Treat Myself To Candlelight

Img_1353

Tonight it’s just me for dinner. And it’s just leftover lentil soup and some tuna fish and crackers. But I decided I deserve candlelight. This is the candle I surrounded with coffee beans in a glass bowl. Smells delicious!

Why don’t we treat ourselves more often to the fine, nice things in life? After all, we shouldn’t wait until it’s a special occasion. Every day is a special occasion as long as we’re still tickin’!

And I know, there are three place settings. But I thought it looked prettier that way. I’ll put the others away when I’m finished.

Here’s a few photos I took last evening of some of my fur babies. I know, I post them often. I’m a proud mama!

Bonnie was snoozing.

Img_1339

And the dog babies got jealous of my taking her picture…

Img_1340

And she was so rudely awakened by Charlie Ross.

Img_1344

Abi of course couldn’t be left out. You know how she likes to have her picture taken!

Img_1348

Finally, a good photo of Charlie!

Have a good evening, blogger friends! And treat yourself to something nice!

xoxoxo

Responses

  1. Hope you enjoy your candlelight dinner!
    I think we will eat our BLTs with just the light coming in from the windows.
    Loved the quilts and pillows from the last post.

  2. Hello!

    Oh your post made me smile if I told you how we have our morning toast you would laugh….. not very chic….. but fast…. for years since my children were small, I am going back 20 years and more,I have been serving them their morning toast on paper plates, because I totally hate washing plates that held one piece of toast.BUT in my defense I can set a very pretty table when need be.
    When I eat alone which does not happen often,as I am the chef cook and bottle washer in this house I eat on proper china etc..in front of the TV to me that’s a treat.
    Great post!
    Diane

  3. Awww, what cuties! I’m am treating myself to a glass of wine along with my laptop on the new patio. The weather is just utterly fabulous, coolish, breezy, so pleasant. And I have the day off tomorrow! xo, suzy

  4. Brenda, you are so right about not saving our “good stuff” for company. If we and our families do not deserve nice things, then nobody does.

    Jan Always Growing

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog tonite. I do know what you mean about women/ forgetfulness and the inevitable shrinking hormones. How is that for a nice way to put it?

    I love your fur babies, I have four cats and they run the house.

    Interesting in your “live feed” you have 3 people from Massachusetts in a short time.

    Janet

  6. What a great evening! Hope your treat was just perfect!!! Love the pics of your little furbabies!!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  7. What a great evening! Hope your treat was just perfect!!! Love the pics of your little furbabies!!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  8. What a great evening! Hope your treat was just perfect!!! Love the pics of your little furbabies!!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  9. Good for you, Brenda! I don’t know why we save those special things, like candlelight dinners, for someone else or for a “special occasion”. Life is short and unpredictable — I’m all for “using the good china” every day!

  10. Brenda, you are totally correct. We should treat ourself to nice things every once in a while. I should try it… I’m sure the kids would get a kick out of it. Maybe this weekend! 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  11. Isn’t it luxurious to set a beautiful table just for ourselves? Necessary luxury. There’s nothing like beauty to soothe our souls. The pics of the ‘kids’ give me a smile.
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  12. Your little friends are just too cute! Enjoy your romantic dinner by candlelight! 🙂 and remember to post about your garden for our party tomorrow, as I’m sending lots and lots of people your way…

    Pd: I haven’t seen your pic yet on my inbox… 🙂

    Hugs

    Cielo

  13. The candlelight dinner for one was a great idea! And you have the cutest little fur babies ever!!!! OMG – they are just too, too sweet – all of them!!! …Donna

  14. Hi Brenda 🙂

    I love your fur babies. I love animals period 🙂

    Have you ever watched The Wedding Planner? She sets up a beautiful dinner for herself in that movie and I always thought that it was a great idea. Why not enjoy your own company in a beautiful setting sometimes? 🙂

    Thank you for your house support. I’ve been struggling with this longer than just a few days. Something just didn’t start to feel right.

    I did what you said and the other house won. We will be going to look at it on Sunday.

    Cinderella is wonderful and a smart cookie too 😉

    hugs,
    rue


Leave a Reply

Categories

