Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 17, 2008

Thank You Cielo!

Img_1315

I took this photo today of some decorating I’ve been doing in my garden room. The tablecloth is the one I talked about buying on eBay. (The one I didn’t take notice that I was not paying in US dollars!) But I love it, so had to find a place for it. I have my trusty old Radio Flyer wagon filled with decorating and gardening books and vintage linens.

And I’ve been arranging and rearranging things in this gold shelf. It use to be in the master bathroom. But since we’re getting ready to remodel that bathroom, I brought it in here. We bought it in Canton a few years ago.

And guess what! Cielo, of House In The Roses, has presented me with this award. It is called the Arte y Pico Award. Thank you, Cielo!

                              Premio2barte2by2bpico_4                   

I am such a fan of Cielo’s blog. She has so many romantic photos of her home and gardens. I feel as though I have come to know her through her wonderful comments and her posts. The House In The Roses is a veritable feast for the eyes. I look forward to each post and urge you to go visit her. You will gasp at what she has on her sidebar. She actually lives there!

And she is having a garden party too!

                                14770_m_garden_party_4

This party is being held on June 21, 2008. Help Cielo celebrate the first day of summer with photos of your garden, wherever it may be. Visit her blog for details. And remember to get those photos to her pronto so she has time to get them up on her blog! Everyone is invited!

And now, about this award she has bestowed upon me. I am just thrilled, Cielo, that you consider my little blog deserving of this honor!

The origin of the Arte y Pico Award: "This prize has arisen from the daily visits that I dedicate to many blogs which nourish me and enrich me with creativity. In them I see dedication, creativity, care, comradeship, but mainly, ART, much art. I want to share this prize with all those bloggers that entertain me day to day and to share this prize with those who enrich me every day. Doubtlessly, there are many and it will be hard to pick just a few. The people I will name today deserve this prize, as do the very long serious list of bloggers I also enjoy to read. But I will name the first 10 and leave the rest of the work to all the bloggers that visit other’s blogs and are nourished by them."

There are 5 rules for this award:

1. Choose 5 blogs you consider deserving of this award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and contribution to the blogging community, regardless of the language.

2. Each award should have the name of the author and a link to his/her blog to be visited by everyone.

3. Each award winner should show the award and put the name and link to the blog that presented him/her with the award. (I know it says this is a rule, but I also know that not everyone likes to do this. I won’t be hurt if you don’t!)

4. The award winner and the one who has given the award should show the Arte y Pico blog so everyone will know the origin of this award. Translated, it means "the peak of art."

5. Show these rules.

As the rules go, I too need to choose five blogs I consider deserving of this award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and contribution to the blogging community, regardless of the language it is written in. So, I pass this award on to:

1. Cindee’s Garden  Cindee writes a beautiful blog in California. I especially like the visual design of her site. Cindee has much to give to the garden blogging community with her photos, wisdom and knowledge. She regularly updates her blog with new material. And she is one sweet lady. I have learned so much from her!

2. Crafty Passions  Diane is an artist. She is retired and lives in Ontario. She makes the most beautiful Pysanky, which is an ancient Ukranian art. (Hope I’m getting this right! Diane, feel free to correct me!) Go to her blog and scroll down and just look at these works of art. They are amazing! And they must take lots of patience, for the medium is eggs! (Painstaking patience!)

3. Lady Greenthumb’s Garden  Violet lives in Croatia. She has a vast knowledge of gardening. And the photos of her plants are so vivid and phenomenal. I so enjoy reading about her life and her gardens. I will probably never visit Croatia, but I virtually visit it all the time now that I’ve gotten to know Violet!

4. Stitching In Texas  Tina lives in East Texas, in my neck of the woods, though I’ve never met her. Tina obviously lives and loves to stitch! As someone who has quilted and embroidered, I know how much time and love goes into it. She is very amusing and has recently celebrated her 200th post!

5. Soliloquy  Nancy lives in Nova Scotia. She is a writer and photographer. She takes the loveliest snapshots! Her blog is full of poetry and art, and will take your breath away with the subtle way she can play with a camera angle!

So that’s my five picks. Once again, Cielo, thank you. And I want to thank everyone who regularly reads my blog. It is a big part of my life. I dedicate a lot of time to it. And I am addicted to reading other blogs!

If you haven’t checked it out, Google has transformed my life recently with Google Reader. By putting all the many blogs I regularly read on the Google Reader, I get updated every time someone posts on their blog. It is so much easier than what I was doing. Which was having them bookmarked and clicking on their site. This way, I save lots of time. (Although I have to admit, I have been adding lots of other blogs to my list with that time!) Someone else tipped me off to it. And I am singing the praises of Google! It does the work for you, and the account is free.

Responses

  1. Wow thanks I am honored!!! I love your blog and visit everyday(-:

  2. I am thrilled that you think my little blog is deserving of this award.I will follow the rules and do it all tommorow for now I sit and glow from the happiness.Thank you so much.
    Diane

  3. Dear Brenda, you are so deserving of that lovely award…! I’m glad I passed it on to you. By the way, that tablecloth is so gorgeous… I just love it!

    pd: you said you send some pic for the party, but I haven’t seen them; hope you can resend them again…

    Blessings to you and yours, and a lovely evening….

    cielo

  4. Hi, Brenda…we live in Lubbock…only about 4 hrs away from Abilene…..

  5. Hi….I just posted but not sure it worked…
    We live in Lubbock…
    xo bj

  6. Wow! Congrats on your award! 🙂 I spy your little red & white tea pot that you bought on e-bay. have a good day! xoxo, Joanna

  7. Hi Brenda….you have a beautiful garden area and your garden room is lovely too…thanks for showing us around! I had to laugh when I read your bio…I have a SIL named Bertha Mae….I think you will agree that Bertha is much “hickier” than Brenda and then adding the Mae to it, well…..LOLOL

    Enjoy your day,
    Debbbie

  8. Brenda– your blog is every bit worthy of this wonderful award. I find creativity, inspiration, encouragement, and so much beauty here. Thank you!

    And thanks for the reminder of Google Reader.
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  9. Thank you so much, Brenda — I’m truly flattered that you’ve passed this along to me. I hope to get it posted tonight or tomorrow, latest. 🙂 It will be my pleasure to pass it along to 5 others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

