Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 9, 2008

New Growth

Img_1141

What does it proclaim about your life when you’re so easily thrilled about new growth on a plant? That when you go outside into your gardens each morning, and you see a new shoot unfurling so bravely into the world, you feel such a stab of tenderness? Almost as if you’ve just given birth yourself.

Img_1076

Does it tell the world that you have a rather boring life? Or that such simple things just tend to make you happy? And that, I hope, is a good thing.

The photo above shows a leaf on one of my pond plants getting ready to show it’s sweet face. It never ceases to amaze me how these various new shoots unfold themselves like an accordian. And we see each step of their journey, and behold the simple beauty of nature.

Here is the entire plant.

Img_1077

I’m sure many of you understand my enthusiasm. But I can’t help but think what, say, my grown daughters would think, if they came to visit and I rushed them outside and pointed out this new plant growth to them. I’m sure they would stare at me in utter amazement, and say, "Mother, don’t you have a life?"

Okay, sweet Laura at My Little Orange Kitchen http://littleorangekitchen.typepad.com has tagged me. It is made up of a questionnaire of sorts to get to know one another better in this vast blogger community. As you can see from my post today, I don’t live a really glamorous life. But I shall do my best not to bore you to tears.

What Were You Doing Ten Years Ago? Well, let’s see. Ten years ago I had just gotten married. I was living in Oklahoma in a huge old house that I was renovating. Also was redoing the garage apartment. We only lived there about three years though, so I have no idea what it looks like now.

Five Things On Your To-Do List: Lose ten more pounds. Yikes, I likely put that in my last tag! But my scales are broken. That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it. Stay off eBay for a week. Clean out the closets. Put flagstone outside my back door. Put together my neighbor’s new dog a "Welcome to the neighborhood" doggy gift basket. (She just lost two beloved dogs in the space of one month. So she well deserves this!) Obviously, I have far more on my list, but this is five!

Five Snacks You Enjoy: I adore Dove milk chocolate pieces. Unfortunately. Also I’m a big yogurt eater. Kashi cereal. Weight Watchers chocolate cake snack at night (eat it literally every night!) A cold cappuccino drink in mid-afternoon when I’m starting to droop. Pepperidge Farm cookies. Especially the assorted flavors in the big box. I grab all the chocolate ones! No salt in my line up. I’m a sugar sweet girl!

Things You Would Do If You Were A Millionare: Well, first I guess I’d pay off my house so I’d never have to worry about foreclosure that’s so in the news right now. And that of my grown daughters. And then I’d have to start giving money away. Meals On Wheels, of course. Because that’s where I volunteer. But then I’d give away most of it to animal causes. Chiefly to the animal shelters because I’d love to have no-kill shelters. Nothing makes me cry more than that sad fact.

Places I’ve Lived: Well, that is easy. Oklahoma. Texas. Oklahoma. Texas. Then finally Texas again. I know, boring. But I haven’t had the pleasure of living anywhere else. Though I’ve always yearned to live near the ocean or in New England where the fall season is so picturesque.

Now that I’ve done my assignment, I must dole it out to three other unsuspecting victims. I want to get to know a few bloggers better that I’ve recently just found and started reading regularly:

Diane, over at Crafty Passions http://dianobe.blogspot.com

Joanna, who is relatively new at this but already very good, over at Sweet Finds http://www.sweetfinds.typepad.com

And Tina, another fellow Texan, over at Stitching In Texas http://www.stitchingintexas.blogspot.com

When you three gals have the time, please tell us more about your illustrious selves! Please don’t be shy. Let it all hang out.

 

Responses

  1. kijsa loves Kashi cereal too! Thanks for a great post!

    Have a blessed and wonderful day!

    smiles, kari & kijsa

  2. I get so excited when I see new blooms starting too! My Dad always told me that I reminded him of his mother because she always got excited over the “little things”. I really don’t believe there is such a thing as the “little things” though!! I think people like us are very fortunate to see the beauty and excitement in the things that others may overlook!
    Have a great evening! And thank you so much for your visit!!
    -Heather 🙂

  3. I love seeing new buds forming, leaves unfurling. I can remember when I would visit my Mom and Dad and Mom would take me out into the garden to show me her plants…She worked hard on her garden and loved it….I used to think – that is way too much work! Now I am walking in her footsteps. I just wish she were still here, so I could take her out to MY garden…

    Loved learning a little more about you..
    Hugs,
    Penny

  4. I enjoyed reading your list, Brenda.

    J calls our daughters out to the patio or other garden areas, to show them progress. In fact, last year, when the big Frances Williams was in full glory, I found him talking to a couple, while we were shopping at Dillards, about his beautiful Hosta!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week.
    Pat

  5. Honey, I am just like you! I call Jim from his shop a lot to see a blossom or new growth on something, and guess what? — In his advancing years he is now doing the same with me. The last time he called me to see the moon. Amazing.

    CurtissAnn

  6. Hi Brenda,
    It is the little things in life that are the best, you’re right!

    Loved reading the things about you. I love yogurt too – the Greek kind, have you tried it?

    Happy day,
    xo~Tracie

  7. Nope, never boring. . . .

    I was just thinking. I wonder what Brenda is up to today.

    I also get excited about plant growth and I love daylilies cause they change every day.~~Dee

  8. I had to giggle and shake my head in agreement over your excitement of new growth. I try not to do ir too often but I also drag my children out to the garden and try to get them to see what I see.

    Perhaps the gardening gene will kick on for them, too, one day!

    🙂 Rosie

  9. I had to giggle and shake my head in agreement over your excitement of new growth. I try not to do ir too often but I also drag my children out to the garden and try to get them to see what I see.

    Perhaps the gardening gene will kick on for them, too, one day!

    🙂 Rosie

  10. I had to giggle and shake my head in agreement over your excitement of new growth. I try not to do ir too often but I also drag my children out to the garden and try to get them to see what I see.

    Perhaps the gardening gene will kick on for them, too, one day!

    🙂 Rosie

  11. I love these little “assignments”… you have fun answers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

