Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 6, 2008

Vintage Linens Decorating Idea

Img_1130

I have absolutely fallen in love with vintage linens. This morning found me at the ironing board ironing still more!

So here’s what I did today. I found an old piece of cane out in the garage. I brought it in and slid it underneath a shelf in my garden room. Then, for stability, I hammered two nails underneath the mid-sections.

Img_1128

And here’s how it looks now. You can see my breakfast room just beyond that.

Last night I spent hours ironing hankerchiefs that were given to me. They were found in my best friend’s trunk when she died two years ago. (I also was given the trunk.) I decided, they’re just crammed into a closet. I should get them out where, when I look at them, I think of her and all our memories together over the past thirty years.

So some of them ended up on my "cane turned drapery rod!"

Img_1129

I won these lilac and red pillowcases (set of 2 each) on eBay last week for under $10 per set. I wanted them on display, but couldn’t figure out just where to put them. So, I decided to put them up here, with the lilac on one end facing the garden room, and the lilac at the other end facing the breakfast room. Then I layered the red over the lilac on either side. So it will show up the same (though opposite colors) when viewed from either room.

My husband is going to come home today and wonder if I’m going to layer the entire house in vintage linens!

Img_1131

Here’s a closer look at what’s on the shelf.

Img_1132

Here’s the view from the breakfast room side.

Img_1133

And then I brought out a quilted wall hanging I made several years ago. I just couldn’t find a good place for it. So I went back into the garage and found a little curtain rod. I slipped the wall hanging over it so it hung the same length on each side, and fit it into the window above my sink that looks into the garden room.

Img_1127

I’m all for getting things out of the closets, or wherever they’re stored, and using them in whatever way you can.

And I can rotate the hankies and linens when I get bored with them!

 

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda 🙂

    Before I back read your posts that I’ve missed, I just wanted to tell you that you make me laugh and smile evertime I read your comments. You seriously make my day!

    I wish I had more hours in a day so I could get to everyone’s blog that I love (including yours), but the more comments I get the harder it is to keep up. That’s why you’ll see a whole lot of comments at once from me and not one everytime you post. I’m NOT complaining, just explaining.

    To be honest, I have no idea why anyone wants to read anything I write. I thought it was just about the farmhouse, but they comment on other things too. I’m amazed everytime I look at my email and see comments. Although I do worry that they’ll stop coming if I don’t get the house LOL I’m glad you think all those things about me (blush) 🙂

    You should be the one getting more than me. I meant what I said about the way you write. You seriously are very talented and can really put your emotions and humor into words. I’ve actually learned a lot from you by reading your posts, so thank you 🙂

    Okay, enough of that. I’m off to read about YOU now ….
    hugs,
    rue

  2. I just bought a huge box of linens at a flea market for 15 bucks and I wasn’t sure what to do with them, but I bought them anyway. Now I know what I’m going to do, but I’m waiting for the farmhouse to use your idea 🙂 Thank you for that!

    hugs,
    rue

  3. What a wonderful idea to display your treasures! I have recently started putting all of my treasures out too (they have been in storage for over a year!) I had a dear friend pass away a few years ago and leave me many many things I hold dear. She used to tell me all of the time “You should have your lovelies out where you can see them and enjoy them every day. Your lovelies don’t belong in a box.” I had to smile when I read this post of yours!!!
    Have a great weekend!
    OH! And I love all of your shabby shack finds! That place sounds like fun………hot, but fun!
    -Heather 🙂

  4. I love old linens, too! I like how you’ve displayed yours. Great idea.

    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Pat

  5. Using your linens is best–everyday is special as we see here!

  6. Very pretty!
    I love vintage linens as well, although I only have a couple of pieces.
    One day I may have more time to treasure hunt as you do.

  7. I can spend hours ironing linens too! I really love those white lace ones in the top photo! I only have floral hankies, I think I need to buy some pretty white ones!

  8. What a clever idea, Brenda! I agree, it’s so much better to have beautiful (vintage) linens on display rather than tucked away… I need to think about where I can do something like that! And your button lamp really turned out beautifully! It really dressed up the shade. I’m afraid I’ve also had bad luck with things falling apart after using a glue gun :(…Donna

  9. Brenda, that is a great idea! I love that you can see those vintage linens and remember your friend. It turned out very charming.
    Penny

  10. You have a wonderful collection. They look so lovely displayed the way you have them.

  11. Hi Brenda!
    I love old linens too and I’m so happy that you have such wonderful ones AND special ones to treasure and enjoy.
    xo,
    Kim

  12. Hi Brenda. What a lovely and special collection you have. I love how you are using your items and not keeping them stored away. Great way to display your treasures! Thanks for sharing. ~ xoxo Joy

  13. I collected antique linens for years–beautiful drawnwork, handmade lace, delicate things. I finally put them away when the dogs and child came along. Perhaps it’s time to take them back out again…

    Robin at Bumblebee

  14. What a beautiful collection! I love vintage linens, most of them are packed away, you’ve inspired me to get some out and enjoy them! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

