Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 3, 2008

Ebay! And Folks, I Haven’t Forgotten My Gardens!

Img_1053

Look what I got on Ebay for $1.99! Of course I paid shipping and handling. But isn’t this red and white teapot from Harry & David cute as pie?

I am new to this Ebay stuff. But I’m hooked! I’ve gotten linens and tole trays so far. I made a huge mistake with an Irish crocheted tablecloth. Didn’t have the brains to see it was not US dollars. Wow! But it’s here, so that little mistake I will just have to put behind me. And it’s lovely. I find myself "just going over to Ebay to take a little look…"

I can certainly see how people get obsessed with this. I just kept seeing so many beautiful things on blogs purchased on Ebay. So I thought, I’ve just got to check this out. Can you believe it took me this long?

I’m liking the lampshades I redid yesterday. This one is in a better spot for viewing purposes. The mother of pearl buttons don’t show up too well…

Img_1055

Here’s todays shot of the Sago palm I showed you just beginning to unfurl the other day. I just love the textures of these new shoots. So I went around the gardens looking at various textures.

Img_1022

Img_1030

Img_1038

Img_1041

Img_1035   

It is already sooo hot and humid here! I just watered the plants and felt like I needed a towel when I came in.

I also got into the book Vintage Vavoom last night. Couldn’t put it down! It has so many lovely things my heart was just racing. I found all kinds of things I want to start collecting. There’s so many wonderful "old" finds out there, you hardly need anything new to dress up your home. And then more doesn’t end up in the horrid landfill.

Here’s my greatest find in a dumpster in 1999. Actually, my step-daughter found him. I just kept him!

Img_0984

Isn’t he a beauty? Clyde is now laying on Vintage Vavoom!

Here’s my sweetie-pie-poo earlier curled up in a ball in the wicker chair snoozing. Don’t you just want to hug him!

Img_0943

"Until one loves an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened." – anonymous

Responses

  1. What a great lampshade re-make and I love your garden pictures!!

    Patty

  2. Sweet blog and I love the lamp shade who would of thought…and you made it look so easy I would love one just like it.I will be back.
    Diane
    http://dianobe.blogspot.com/

  3. Great lampshade. You are so talented. Clyde is a cutie. I just love cats; we have three. Very nice teapot. I could never do ebay – no self-control when it comes to vintage articles.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  4. Beautiful Lampshade and great garden pictures! Thanks for leaving a message on my blog. Hope we can visit each other more often!
    Love, Ann

  5. Ebay & craigslist can both be soooo addicting! but the tea pot is cute, esp. for Christmas. 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  6. Brenda, The pictures are great. I love the kitty, and the plants are wonderful. That lampshade is amazing. Great job. Ebay can be a challenge, but I have been buying and selling for years now. If you need a little advice, email me. I may have a hint or two for you. Susan

  7. Brenda,

    I LOVE the lamp shade! How inspiring. So glad to see you posted about the how to. I will go back and read it. I also love buying things on a good deal, but have only tried thrift stores, agnd garage sales. Now to attempt the world of e-bay?? A bit scary for an a non techni-saavy woman! Your garden plants look great. While yours sit in heat, mine are begging for sun!

  8. I have been reading about your memories of your grandmaother’s garden and your mother’s photo. Also your Aunt Lillie. Isn’t it strange how those memories from so long ago float into your mind and you recall some of the things that made you who you became, but the memories are only whispy now?

  9. Hi Brenda… that lamp is gorgeous… I have a special feeling for soft lighting and pretty romantic lamps, just like yours…. and your garden is doing great!

    Have a blessed day

    Cielo

  10. Isn’t that the best book? Makes you want to take everything out of the closet and put it all over the house! 🙂

    xoLidy

  11. Awwww, love Clyde! Your plants are lovely too! Also enjoyed your decor pictures and yes, the red does look Lovely!!
    Tiffany 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

