Posted by: Brenda Kula | May 23, 2008

Hello Dolly Cookies

Img_0860

Here is another very easy recipe. This one is for dessert.

Hello Dolly Cookies

1 stick margarine

1-2 cups vanilla wafer crumbs, mashed into almost a powder

1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup pecan pieces

1 cup shredded coconut

1 can Eagle Brand condensed milk

Melt margarine in 9 X 13 oven dish. Have your vanilla wafer crumbs ready. I just cover the margarine liberally. I’d say 1-2 cups of crumbs. DO NOT STIR. On top of this, sprinkle chocolate chips. On top of that sprinkle pecan pieces. And on top of that, sprinkle the shredded coconut. Then just pour your can of condensed milk all across this combination. I go up on side and back down the other with my can until I’ve covered the dish of ingredients as best I can. It is very important that you never stir anything in this recipe.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. Until your dessert is browning on top. Mine just now came out kind of early. It all depends on your oven.

Take out of oven and let sit a little bit. You can then, after cooling, cut into squares. These are delicious. Especially warm. You could also add a little vanilla ice cream on top.

As my house is still somewhat in chaos, I cannot find my recipe box. So I just fixed this from memory. For a fast and easy recipe, you can’t beat it. My son-in-law does not like coconut, so won’t try them. He is seriously missing out!

Here is what it looks like before it goes into the oven.

Img_0858

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda,
    These look so yummy. I may have to make them this weekend since it’s a lot cooler here now (supposed to rain!). I love coconut so I think these are meant for me 😉

    Have a nice long weekend~
    xo~Tracie

  2. I agree this looks really yummy. I think dear hubby would love this.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  3. oh those look so yummy. I’ll have to try them. Congrats on your 100th post!

  4. Good morning Brenda 🙂

    My mom makes these, but she calls them Kayla Bars because that’s the name of the person she got the recipe from. All these years I thought it was a made up recipe LOL They look YUMMY!

    I love your new lamps!

    Have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend,
    rue

  5. Mmmm…yummy!! Hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

  6. This is another one of your recipes that I can wrap my mind around…and we love coconut! Also, love your new lamps. They are perfect in your bedroom. Susan

  7. a recipe I don’t have to stir. I love it.

    Debbi.

  8. I’ve always used graham crackers for the crust and walnuts instead of pecans. We call them magic cookie bars.

  9. Wow! They look soo good! I will hve to try those…

    Love your new lamps!

    I am hoping since you left a comment on my blog, if I happen to win your lovely giveaway, you will have my email address too. I post it in my profile. If not, let me know
    Hugs,
    Penny

  10. I used to make these and bon bons for Christmas every year with my first Mother in law. We used graham cracker crumbs, but I like the idea of using nilla wafers. I always have some of those left over after making banana pudding.

  11. Yummy those sure look good!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

