Posted by: Brenda Kula | May 14, 2008

Sunny Bedroom Redo

Img_0716

The bedroom has new yellow paint and laminate floors (which I absolutely love, by the way. They came in sections and clicked into place.) I’m not pleased with the lamps, and am considering having some mounted on the wall. I do a lot of reading at night before bed. Abi, of course, sneaked into the photo opportunity.

I need some advice, fellow bloggers. The rollers beneath the bed slip around when nudged up against. A woman in a store said to get some of that no-slip drawer liner. I did, and cut it up into small squares and placed them underneath the bed. It worked. But, Charlie and Abigail think it’s mighty fun to rip the squares out from underneath and play tug-of-war with them. Anybody got any other suggestions?

Img_0706

As this room has no windows, I thought yellow would perk it up some.

Img_0701

And how about a reading corner near the bookshelves I brought in from the living room? These are the resin wicker chairs I had outdoors for several years. I hosed them down and brought them in. I made all the pillows years ago and had them languishing in the garage. (Yes, I hand-sewed all those little squares and yo-yos on the pillows! And quilted the miniature bowtie quilt.)

Img_0702

The round mirror I had in the guest room, which has to be redone due to the plumbing problem. I hot-glued mother-of-pearl buttons onto it. And there’s the TV I took out of my garden room.

Img_0703

This is an old sewing machine table I bought at a junk store here in town. It has a butcher block top. I think I paid around $30 for it at Shabby Shack. The bowl and pitcher is something I picked up at a discount store for under $5. And this sign says it all. Now, at least in this room, I have tranquility and peace of mind.

Img_0705

The matching outdoor chair is adjacent to the bed. I just love these laminate floors. They look so rustic, but clean so easily. I "googled" how to clean laminate floors, and it said use 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar to one gallon warm water. The floors were somewhat slippery until I mopped them in this solution.

Img_0713

How about some antique linens hanging alongside the bed? I’ve been collecting these for awhile. Picked up the little stand at the same junk store. I think I got it for a few dollars.

Img_0698

What is it about cats and baskets? Here is Charlie nosing up to Clyde, who just wants to be left alone, thank you very much. Bonnie and Clyde both plop into any basket left momentarily empty!

It’s raining buckets today, so I suppose I won’t be gardening. I think I’ll curl up in the chair and do some reading. 

Responses

  1. Yellow is a good color, and I love the new floors…. you’d done a great job!

    Have a great day, Karen…

    Hugs

    Cielo

  2. I love everything. You did a great job!! The floor is really nice too. I have a wood floor in my hallway and I love it. I wish I had it all through my house. Especially with the pets its so much easier to care for then with carpet.

  3. Everything looks so cheerfull!
    Those pillows you made are beautiful. I also like your floor lamp. I picked up one like that several years ago at an antique store.

  4. What a beautiful room!
    I love your pillows and quilt.
    I also just realized that I haven’t sent your soaps yet! I’m so sorry. I hardly know if I’m coming or going right now! I do need your mailing address though. You wanted the sage and citrus soaps right?
    Enjoy your new room!

  5. Hi Brenda 🙂

    I hope the issues at your house get better. I would have had a few choice words for the plumber. At least this room is finished 🙂 It looks really cute. I love the pillows you made.

    If I was you, I would lock myself up in this room until they fixed everything, but then again, it wouldn’t get done without you on their butts now would it? 😉

    Great job 🙂
    rue

  6. Hi Brenda,
    You’ve got humidity, we’ve got the heat. Ick!

    I do love your sunny colored room, it’s very cheerful and all the little touches are wonderful. I am so glad to see a TV in a room – we’ve got one smack dab in the middle of our front room and I really like the way you decorated around yours, not an easy thing to do.

    Oh, Abi looks so cute on the bed, never one to miss a photo op – so cute of her!
    xo~Tracie

  7. The room is fabulous! What a great place for reading and relaxing. You are an amazingly creative woman. I, too, love antique linens. The yellow walls appear a warm shade on my computer, both cheerful and soothing. Each time Jim and I look at a house, the first thing we say is that we’ll have to rip up the carpets. We have oak flooring now, but not laminate. With your raves, I’m going to look into laminate.

    Thanks so much for sharing your talent– gives me inspiration!
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  8. Oh your room is so pretty. I’m glad you were able to have one fixed like you enjoy it. My goodness those pillows are amazing and I just love vintage linens. xorachel


Leave a Reply

Categories

