Posted by: Brenda Kula | May 4, 2008

Saturday Tyler Garden Tour

Img_0597_2

Yesterday was a real treat. The Master Gardeners here in Tyler had a tour of five gardens about town.

The first one was right in my own neighborhood. It was truly glorious to behold. It was a wooded backyard with many trees and no lawn. Little gardens everywhere. Mostly shade plantings toward the back. I can’t tell you how many trees these people must have planted. Sculptures, a wonderful huge back porch that I so envied! It was just amazing. Glad to have them in the neighborhood, certainly!

Img_0566

This plant stand is a piece of art in and of itself.

Img_0567 

This yard had everything you could want. Water features predominated in various areas throughout the woodland setting.

Img_0569

Img_0571

Here is a pool in another yard. This was a huge property with many pine trees. (East Texas is, after all, called the Piney Woods.) This yard had many slopes to it that must have been hard to work with. But these people made the most of it and enhanced it.

Img_0574

Isn’t this a beautiful table centerpiece?

Img_0575

I love the texture in this plant.

Img_0576

Img_0577

Can you imagine having your morning coffee or tea out here in the woods?

Img_0580

A whimsical little vignette of gardening.

Img_0585

Img_0588

Img_0591

Img_0592

This gardener doesn’t just "paint the landscape." She literally paints it all! From the furniture to the pots to the pillows to the birdhouses. Just take a look at what we found in the historic Azalea District.

Img_0593

I wanted you to see this table top she painted close up.

Img_0595

This birdbath has marbles glued around the edges.

Img_0594

Painted pillows too. And the bench!

Img_0600

Img_0601

I was captivated by this fountain. She painted all these pieces. Isn’t it amazing? So colorful and imaginative.

Img_0602

I was told that this entire backyard was covered in leaves when the current homeowners purchased it a few years ago. When they went about cleaning it up, they discovered that the whole back yard was bricked!

Img_0605

Img_0608

Img_0609

Img_0612

Img_0614

A mosaic bench, bright and decorative. This was right up my alley. I was like a kid in the proverbial candy store. My eye just couldn’t take in enough of this truly inspired yard. This is one talented woman.

Img_0616

Img_0617

When you pull up to the front of this house, it is indeed a lush front yard. But you have no idea what awaits you when you walk down the brick pathway to the back. I was just giddy looking at all this woman had to offer.

Img_0628 

I hope you enjoyed the tour. I know I did.

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda, I am a master gardener in near by Kaufman County. I was sorry to have missed the tour. Baseball and soccer games came first. It was great to read about your experience though.

    Debbi

  2. Beautiful tour, Brenda. Thanks so much.

    Are you from the Tyler of the famous Tyler Roses? I used to buy Tyler Roses on street corners in Bossier City Louisiana. Many Many Many years ago…my aunt lived in Tyler.

    Pat

  3. Hi Brenda,
    I do not know which is my favorite, but I love going on tours like this in someone else’s town. Makes me feel like I went along. Oh, I do love the bricks and the barbecue too – lovely idea.
    ~Tracie

  4. Wow everything is just beautiful. Thanks for the tour!!!! Makes me want to get outside and work in my yard(-:

  5. Brenda, while I wish I was really there, I did so enjoy sharing all those photos with you. I admit I had to click on a close-up of that birdbath with marbles on the edge. It was fabulous!

    Thanks for taking the time to put this post up for us.

  6. I love garden tours and this one is fabulous. Great pictures and thanks so much for sharing it. xo, suzy

  7. Oh my. I’m wiping drool off my chin! How incredible. Love the plant stand and that gazebo…wow! A magnificent tour – thanks for sharing!

  8. I thoroughly enjoyed traveling with Brenda Tours again 😉 What a treat having such interesting neighbours and wonderful gardens. I always wondered how anyone could say gardening is not an art !

  9. You must have had a wonderful day. My heart is racing just looking at these spectacular garden features.

  10. Lovely lovely gardens… we didn’t have a garden tour here were we live this year, I wish they would do this every sunday 🙂 They’re so much fun.

    Have a lovely day and rest of week, Brenda!

    Cielo

  11. Brenda, what a lovely place it is. So many nice things. Thanks for inspiration!


Leave a Reply

Categories

