Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 29, 2008

Lonely Cemetary

Img_0456

"At birth our death is sealed, and our end is consequent upon our beginning."

This morning I visited the Oakwood Cemetary in North Tyler. It includes more than 2000 markers, but far more graves are actually located there.

Established in 1849, Oakwood Cemetary was acquired for a public square. A portion was deeded to the city for a cemetary. The graveyard includes the graves of early settlers, business executives, politicians, war veterans, and other citizens.

Come with me as I tour a few of the final resting places. I suspect these people are long forgotten, as there were no flowers on graves or people visiting.

An infant son.

Img_0428

Img_0429_2

Their little girl, aged three. A lot of grief in that family.

Img_0430

Barely readable and worn by the elements of time.

Img_0438

All that was left.

Img_0440

Img_0449

Img_0459

Img_0466

An adjacent broken-down house.

Img_0468

A nearby business establishment.

Img_0470 

Responses

  1. I am so pleased that you posted these pictures. I am very fond of walking the paths in graveyards. Some people might think that it is odd but cemeteries are wonderful places to think and learn. I’ve always felt a sense of calm and well-being while there. Of course, I have never gone at night or done anything silly in them. I am respectful of the graves and the grounds. It is very interesting to see the families and learn about them by the epitaphs. You know? They used to write the most terrific epitaphs! Somewhere I have a picture of a gravestone on which is the name Zoe Fanny. I thought that Zoe (sounds like No) was a soft and lovely name. Not so fond of Fanny personally but I’ve met a wonderful lady named Fanny and she’s done quite well with the name. 🙂

    Blessings and thanks for your comment on the blog. I am very interested in hearing more about your career. I imagine that you have many stories to tell.

    -Lacy

    Oh, and if you are fascinated by epitaphs (as I am) then check out this site:

    http://www.alsirat.com/epitaphs/

  2. You are not alone, Brenda. I enjoy visiting old cemeteries also. If interested, you might enjoy a tour of Historic Greenwood Cemetary in Birmingham, Michigan … I posted my link: http://picasaweb.google.com/Loonfeather/PEACEFULVISITHISTORICGREENWOODCEMETERY

  3. Isn’t it interesting to walk through a cemetary that is old. You see the same sir names and wonder how they were related and what their stories are. You notice a year when there are many, many deaths and wonder what caused all of them. I find it facsinating.

  4. I know this sounds funny but I like going to old cemeteries as well. I just think about the type of like they led when they were alive.
    It just boggles my mind about the dates of which they lived and died, so long ago, and yet people will someday say that about us when were gone.
    Glenda

  5. Brenda, that’s a beautiful cemetary. Old headstones are so interesting. Old cemetaries are fascinating places.

  6. I have always loved old cemeteries. I just visited an old one last week where my great-great grandmother is buried. It was my first time there and touched me deeply. Thanks for the great post. Have a great week.
    Judy

  7. Oh, yipppee, I have found my peeps! I love cemeteries. Dear hubby is accustomed to me hollering: “Stop! Let’s look at that graveyard.” 🙂 Thank you for the view of this one. Isn’t the old house great? Reminds me of those from my childhood, hot afternoons, Coca-Cola on the porch (one did not say Coke :))

    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  8. Hi Brenda,
    Oh how I would have loved to go for a walk with you through this beautiful cemetery. I love to read the old markers and wonder about the people and their lives and hope they live somewhere in a family member’s heart not forgotten at all. We used take Sunday walks in the cemetery all the time in our family ~ four generation’s worth, left me with a real love of walks like this 😉
    Would you mind if I printed the one picture where the marker is almost completely worn away? I would love to print that photo for my office. You have my email, I’ll wait to hear from you.
    I love seeing the sights in someone else’s town. I’ll come along any time. I may go shoot some photos in our cemetery this weekend (if it’s not too hot).
    xoxo~Tracie

  9. Hi Brenda 🙂

    I loved this post. My grandfather went to a graveyard in every town he traveled to when he was alive. All over the US and overseas. I find them fascinating as well.

    rue 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

