Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 11, 2008

Mandevilla In Bloom

Img_0241

I planted two Mandevilla vines on either side of my front gate arbor. Soon it will twine up the black steel and greet every one who passes by. I also have yellow Carolina Jessamine next to it. So yellow and red together. Such strong, cheerful colors!

The rain has knocked all the yellow blooms off the Carolina Jessamine vines today. But they will pop back up in a day or so. They seem to grow wild in my yard. Everywhere I look, little Carolina Jessamine vines are shooting upward.

All the seeds I planted have come up (I think). I can’t even remember where I planted what! It will be a joyful surprise! I really must get better organized about that. I meant to write it all down in a journal. But I just couldn’t stop working to sit down and do that, I was having so much fun.

Only a fellow gardener would understand that profound statement!

Responses

  1. I so envy your warmer weather and early blooms. It is cool and windy here today– you know OK.

    With vague memory of Carolina Jasmine, I just looked it up and saw the warning: all parts of the plant are poisonous. Makes me a little nervous, although it grows wild and obviously things are not dropping dead everywhere. My son told me the other day that he read on the internet that acorns were also poisonous– and our Sweetie-Pie has to be watched carefully when outside!

    Have a great weekend with your darling.
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  2. I understand what you mean. 🙂 The Mandevilla is stunning — what beautiful blooms.

  3. The Mandevilla, is beautiful! We’re supposed to have snow showers Sunday. Some of our plants are beginning to peek through…perhaps the snow will pass us by!

    Pat

  4. I planted a red mandevilla vine last year, and it was gorgeous. This year I added a white one to my arbor. I have great hopes for that one, too. Mandevillas are very striking plants, aren’t they.

    Jan Always Growing


Leave a Reply

Categories

