Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 3, 2008

Fun In The Sun

This is a little spot in my yard.

Img_0085

Isn’t this ceramic sun lady fun? I bought her at Gardening Angel, a little spot on 1-55 next to my favorite barbecue place, The Purple Pig. It was only $28, and is probably about 18-20 inches in diameter. I had my husband put a masonry nail in the wall of the garden home next to us.

001

Azaleas_our_neighborhood_022

A pot of pansies and herbs. I love herbs.

Img_0086

I have little seating arrangements throughout my yard where I can stop weeding and working, and sit down a spell and look around.

Azaleas_our_neighborhood_025

Azaleas_our_neighborhood_024

Azaleas_our_neighborhood_021

I find that decorating my yard is just as much fun as decorating my house. So when I’m out looking around at sales, I always look at decorative objects from both angles.

Try and take the eye vertical every little bit. It breaks up the horizontal views of a yard and brings a touch of whimsy to your gardens.

Responses

  1. Your garden is looking great!

  2. What beautiful gardens you have! Each one looks so unique, yet all blend into a thoroughly delightful area. I have a coupe of seating areas, but they don’t compare to yours. So much eye candy in each one, you could sit for hours and enjoy. Thanks for the lovely tour.

  3. Hi Brenda,
    Your gardens are so pretty – love the Mr. or is it Mrs. Sunshine. The herb pot is wonderful too!
    Happy weekend!
    ~Tracie

  4. What a lot of great spaces to sit and enjoy the sunshine and flowers! Love your garden.

    Thank you, too, for leaving comments for me despite the letters that drive you crazy. sorry.:(
    xo Lidy

  5. Your container garden is lovely. I love the ceramic sun face too-she’s very cheery and perfect to watch over your flowers-lol.

  6. Well, my word, you have just solved my desire for herbs dilemma. Put them in pots! That way I can have them right out the door and carry them with me when I move!

    Your garden areas are beautiful! My difficulty is getting up once I sit down. ha,ha.

  7. Hi Brenda, I see that you have lots of things popping in your garden too! I love a mild climate, my goal is to one day live in at least a zone 9 preferrably a zone 10 area. You really have your garden fixed up nicely. I love looking for new things to stick in my yard scape too. I putting you on my google reader list so that I can come back and visit. xo, suzy

  8. Your yard and your blog look so lovely! I can imagine sitting a spell.

  9. This IS fun, Brenda! That happy sun….I love it and wish I could find interesting things like that around here. You’re a good gardener-encourager too–I bet lots of people have never thought about focusing more on the vertical.

  10. When my garden grows up, I want it to look just like yours.
    Lynna


Leave a Reply

Categories

