Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 22, 2008

Saturday About Town

Img_2921

No, this is not my yard with the gorgeous tulips. I saw these while driving through the Azalea District today. I felt like stopping and asking where they got their bulbs. Maybe I will.

Speaking of the azaleas, the Azalea Festival is still going on. But the weather has been a little spiteful. So the azaleas are still not at their peak. Last week, I said they’d probably peak in another week. Now I’m adjusting that estimate to one more week.

Img_2942

We had lunch at one of my very favorite places, Don Juans’. I always get the same thing. Chicken emmoladas (that chocolate sauce, or whatever it is, is scrumptious!), and their guacamole the best I’ve had. I don’t even want to know how many calories I consumed!

Img_2928

Img_2932

Then we stopped downtown and I took a few photos, since I already had the camera with me.

Img_2937

Img_2934

Img_2943

Img_2938

Then we stopped at Lowes, and it was soooo busy. Had about five lines going in the garden center, and they were all quite long.

But I needed even more mulch. I’ve spread about ten big bags of it over the past week. Bought five more.

Since I did some weeding yesterday, now is the time to get everything mulched. And layer it pretty thick while you’re at it. That way you can stop the growth of weeds before they get way ahead of you.

So I’d better get out there and start working! No rest for the weary. My husband say it’s, "no rest for the wicked." Do any of you happen to know which one is correct? Just a bit of trivia for you.

Responses

  1. I can see that it is spring in your corner of the world! How lovely.
    I’ve always thought it was no rest for the wicked, but I couldn’t tell you where that saying came from, so. . .I may be wrong! 🙂
    Happy Easter!

  2. What a wonderful blog. I found you through the Blogcatalog, and what a great discovery. I love your writing style, your photos and your lovely furballs (especially Abigail).
    Looking forward to your future posts.
    Happy Easter to all of you.

  3. You are both correct !!!

    “You must keep persevering no matter how tired or overworked you are. 1
    ‡ A variant is “no rest for the wicked,” which implies that the devil will not allow his followers to rest from their evil doings”

    I have used both, but your comment made me wonder which was correct to I googled it….

    Nice post,
    Kathy 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

