Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 19, 2008

Spring Winds

Img_2669

We had a bit of a storm yesterday. The blooms on the spring flowers are sagging a little in response.

Last weekend I cleaned up the courtyard area and spruced everything up. I made the glass tops on the end tables by my loveseat sparkle. And then here came the winds, rain, and yellow pollen.

Img_2665

Since we had a freeze a couple of weeks ago, the azaleas haven’t sprung forth as the annual Azalea Festival had hoped. Here is a bud on the pink one in my side yard. Hopefully in a week we’ll have some show stoppers!

Img_2672

Certainly the birds are taking advantage of the multitude of birdhouses I have about the yard. Today is chilly, so they’re nesting inside, as I am. It is so interesting to watch them perch on a tree limb with bits of straw and paper in their beaks. Then fly into a tiny hole to build a nest. It fascinates me anyway.

Img_2668

See the little ceramic frog peaking from behind the plant? He’s watching over my pond.

Img_2666

I inherited this bush with the property, so someone else planted it. I don’t know much about shrubbery and such. Can someone tell me what this is? It’s about five or six feet tall.

Img_2670

Here’s a little area I planted up last fall. I like the different shades of green. I have a tulip about to bloom near the back.

In case some of you think you might have stumbled upon the wrong blog today, I wanted to explain that yes, it does look different. Susan Tuttle did a magnificent job with my photos in my blog banner. But once she did that, I was hungry for more visual effects inside the actual blog area. Susan couldn’t spare the time for more projects.

I had just learned of Sara Duckett over at Sadie Olive. (www.sadieolive.com). She’s had quite a bit of press lately. I saw her in Romantic Homes magazine. She has a blog and a charming little online boutique. She also does web graphics and blog designs.

Sara is apparently "self-taught" when it comes to her vast computer skills. I myself do not have that particular talent. So I enlisted her to "spice" up my blog. I’ve always been partial to red and white polka-dots, so now I have them! And cute little category tags. All compliments of Sara. Thank you, Sara!

Sara’s boutique has antique accessories, French furnishings, and a bit of country chic. Go visit her if you’re in the mood to shop. (She’s amazing at decorating!) Or send her a note if you lack the computer skills (as I did) to spice up your blog.

 

Responses

  1. I like the polka-dots! And what you’ve got growing already is pretty impressive. 🙂

  2. Your garden is looking great!
    I also love the new look of your blog.
    Hope your computer woes are over soon! 🙂

  3. Hi Brenda !
    Your blog is looking great !
    I’m jealous you have so much greenery to see ..
    I’ll be waiting for my Northern Lights Azalea to bloom late Spring too .. love the bird houses ! .. is that Gold Creeping Jenny ? .. I have lots of that as well .. great ground cover to protect some of my plants as well.
    Joy
    PS .. are you growing Moonflower vine this year too ?

  4. Hi Brenda,

    Love the new look! Very fun! And isn’t blogging supposed to be fun? otherwise, what is the point?

    (And I always love doggie pix.)

    Robin at Bumblebee

  5. Hey Sweetie Brenda,
    I was so excited about your new look and the birdhouses and Paris consignment shop, I commented in the wrong place. But who cares, I can comment again, right?

    I love your garden so much, I can take quite a few notes from you.

    …Thank you for watering my garden & feeding my pets since I’ve been gone! I’ve got to add you to my links, so you’re just a stone’s throw away sweets! Better hurry home and do it ~ thanks again!
    xo~Tracie

  6. Brenda, I love polka dots too!! They’re a favorite. Your blog is pretty. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such sweet comments. Such a blessing. I’m really enjoying your Spring flowers. We don’t have any yet! xoRachel

  7. Hi Brenda,

    Spring is looking colorful on your blog! I also like that little curved green border.

    Your shrub is one of the Spiraeas, commonly called Bridal Wreath, or sometimes Baby breath spiraea. From the leaf shape it might be Spiraea cantoniensis. I inherited a couple of varieties with my house, too and like them a lot.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose


Leave a Reply

Categories

