Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 16, 2008

Garden Pond Dilemma

Img_2606

Yesterday was quite warm. I did a lot of work in the yard. I potted up some purple and red petunias. Moved around some things. Why is it we gardeners feel the necessity of lugging around heavy objects and straining our backs while doing so? I suppose things must take on a different appearance in a new location, and that lifts our spirits.

Img_2610

I had a contractor out to inquire about prices for a waterfall yesterday afternoon. I want to extend my small pond. His price was exorbitant. I wonder how in these economic times anyone can justify a minimum of $5000 for a simple water garden feature? I did not want the moon. Just another little area behind my existing pond; perhaps two or three feet. Possibly more extensive water features to help drown out the sounds of the busy thoroughfare just one block from my home.

As you can see from the photo below, we’re not talking about a large space at all.

Img_2611

Today I will scour the bookstore to possibly educate myself on such matters. It cannot be that hard. Or am I kidding myself? I just wanted another small pre-formed pond behind the current one. Hopefully above the ground so there’s no real digging. And maybe a waterfall feature attached that leads into the existing pond.

I cannot afford anywhere near that price. I have a house that needs painting. I stripped off my bathroom wallpaper, and it is still bare at the moment. I have leaky faucets that need replaced. I have damaged furniture from dragging it across the garden room rock floor. There is a piece of carpet covering part of it, and a drain underneath that in the center of the floor. I need the floor leveled and then have flooring put down. So there is much to be done in this house we rented for three years and just started paying a mortgage for.   

Actually two years ago I had someone build a small waterfall. It leaked the entire summer. I had to fill my pond up with water most every day. The guy who owned the water garden store and installed it seemed aggravated by my requests that he fix it, and soon became surly. I was understandably angry because my water bill skyrocketed. And I was still renting! Thus went my summer. Finally I took it down myself. When he installed it, he put in the unsightly filter that is the round black object you see just to the left above.

Don’t get me wrong. That filter was worth every penny of the $500 I shelled out. I simply backwash the pond like a pool once a month. Of course I have to clean debris off the small pumps inside the pond constantly (sometimes two or three times per day come spring), so I don’t know that I gained all that much. So I’m also looking to rectify that predicament as well.

But couldn’t he have hidden it a bit more? I wanted my yard to look somewhat natural. Be a habitat for nature. This big black filter is not at all what I envisioned. But it is heavy. I’m not sure, even if I figure out how to move all the paraphernalia hooked up to it, that I can lift it alone. I just want it placed to the other side and add another small pond and stones to hide it from view.

If anyone wants to comment on this predicament, please feel free. I appreciate all offers of help!

I continually lurk on HGTV’s Rate My Space. "Those" gardeners seem to be able to do it. They proudly display the "made it myself in my spare time" slogan. I stare at their work longingly. I don’t know if I have their nerve.

I purchased more mulch. Friday evening I used what I had to pad the beds. Of course I picked up more potting soil. Can’t have enough potting soil laying around.

Img_2608

So my poor wagon is full once again! It is only a few years old, but it looks like it’s seen better days, doesn’t it?

Img_2619

I whisked about cleaning up my courtyard and gazebo from Target all afternoon. And then I go outside this morning to retrieve the Sunday newspapers and the wind had blown debris all over everything again!

Img_2617

Our Tyler Azalea Festival has begun. But the azaleas haven’t put on their show as of yet. It will likely be at least another week before they are the showstoppers Tyler is renowned for.

Img_2622

Hopefully next week I will have good photos to show you of the neighborhood azaleas.

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda,
    $ 5,000?!
    Waterfalls can be a problem when it comes to losing water. Henry built a small one for me but we used the rubber liner. The real trick is to make sure that the liner extends out far enough to capture any stray water. We do have one small spot that has a bit of a drip over the edge. As it doesn’t really affect our water bill too much I just plant a moisture lover in that one spot. We(okay Henry)do have to rearange the rocks on the waterfall each spring as they tend to move with the thaw.
    I don’t even have a filter in my little pond. It is in partial shade though so that helps.
    I just consulted Henry,
    He says: build a little hill with a bit of a dish in the center. Put rubbber liner up over the hill and past the sides. The bottom must go over the edge of your existing pond.Place your rocks where you want them ( this is the trickiest part!) trim the excess and tuck it under the soil. How much water flow you get depends on how large your pump is.
    Henry just came back in and said he’d do it for half! 🙂 I told him you live in Texas! “Then she’d need to by me a plane ticket too!” says he. LOL!
    Good luck!

  2. Brenda, sorry I can’t help you with the waterfall. Just thought I’d let you know I have the same wagon and it looks the exact same (rust and all)!

  3. There are manufactured rocks, made out of fiberglass, but they look real. As they are hollow on the inside, perhaps one of them could be a cover for your filter box.


Leave a Reply

Categories

