Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 14, 2008

Friday At The Stone Place

After my Meals On Wheels route, I "just happened" to end up in the lane that leads straight to Home Depot. Just an excuse to hit the nursery of course. Who can resist this time of year?

Img_2604

I picked up just a few more plants. One of my very favorites is right there on the table. Pineapple sage. The scent is heavenly. (I have yet to get those seed packets I ordered opened, by the way!)

Then on the way home, I "just happened" to drive past what I always refer to as "the stone place." I know it has a formal name. I just can’t for the life of me remember it. I wander around and pick out stones, and have them weighed and piled into my car.

Img_2605

One hundred twenty pounds, I think they weighed it as. And all of $6. Can’t beat that. I think they called it the 5 Cent a pound bin. My big wagon is out in the back loaded down with bags of mulch. So I have to get that out of there before I can fill it up with this rock.

Ever since last spring when I had flagstone laid in my yard, I’ve had this thing for rocks. I don’t know quite what it is. I suppose it’s that I never really noticed the beauty in rocks. And now I see all these interesting curves and indentations and colors that just fascinate me.

I’m feeling sort of chaotic right now. And I know precisely why. My garden room/computer area is in disarray. I’m typing on my "photograph table" and my printer is on another odd table I whisked in for double duty. You see, we bought the computer table/desk that matches my new desk chair (that Abigail has already managed to chew on), and all those heavy boxes of furniture parts are sitting out in my newly cleaned and rearranged garage. Awaiting someone to put them all together.

DH took one look at it and decided it was beyond him earlier this week. And I already knew it was beyond me. I can put computers and things together without instructions usually, but I can’t follow directions which has English on one side and Spanish or French on the other. Just that fact alone confuses me.

He found someone to put the desk furniture together. But they can’t come until Monday. Which means everything is piled on top of everything else, because I thought I was going to have actual furniture to put it on and got ahead of myself.

Then there’s the confusion of the new internet provider. It is cable, and people usually rave about it. But I’m convinced the continual problems we’re having is because the "cable guy" located the main computer connection in my garden room (the room that was once a patio and is now enclosed). And it’s too far from the cable box. If I’d been smart, I’d have had him just install a new cable to begin with.

Anyway, every single day for the past seven days, the internet will be going along fine, and poof! It’s gone. I unhook this and reload that. Finally, I manage to get back on. So Monday I’m having "the cable guy" come back out and install a cable in another room. Then I can have my wireless connection back without all these wires and modems. Which proves problematic for me anyway because I’m constantly deciding to move things. And what’s the point of the Dell computer with only one cord if I have to have all these others looking unsightly?

I don’t know about you, but I’m anal about having things in their proper place. When I had kids still at home, of course that didn’t happen. But now that the nest is empty, I want organization. If things are off-kilter, I’m off-kilter. It’s like my mind is trying to wrap itself around all these things I can see out of the corner of my eye while I’m typing that aren’t supposed to be there!

And I will be fine when things are back in place. Really I will. Until then, I will make little treks every hour or so out into the yard and pull at a few errant weeds. That calms me. Soothes my mind. And the cable connection that is my brain reboots and there are only steady green lights. And none blinking at me as if to say, "we’re about to take a short break, ma’am."  

Responses

  1. Those plants look good! I’m still not there yet but the snow has melted quite a bit. One of these days I’m going to see the entire front yard without snow! The back is more shaded though and will be a while.
    I paid for I rock once and Henry has never let me forget it! Rock is what you get from some one’s farm. Of course we didn’t know anyone with a farm…
    I did pay quite a bit more than $6 though!

  2. Wow, I’m going to ask at my stone place if they have a 5 cents a pound bin. Being that this is Long Island, I’d settle for a 25 cents a pound bin and still be happy.

  3. I love rocks, too! Years ago hubby and I started collecting rocks on our driving trips. We lined them around the rose garden. When I think about moving, I imagine me as Lucille Ball in ‘The Long Trailer’– hiding rocks everywhere.

    — CurtissAnn

  4. Hi Brenda,

    Thanks for the visit! Nice to see some green for a change – I am still up to my eye balls in snow! 🙂

    Joy

  5. This post was just chock full of info. I have to comment on your pineapple sage; I love it too. Annie in Austin has some that I’ve admired. And what a great deal on the stone.

    I hope your Internet connection, new desk, and resulting disorder are all ironed out to your satisfaction very soon. I’m like you—I like to have everything in its proper place and can’t feel easy unless it is. But that’s only true of my own house. A little mess in someone else’s house doesn’t bother me a bit.

  6. Hi Brenda,
    I love stopping accidentally by the Home Depot – whoops, my car just went there on its own. I really wish I had a “stone place” think that’s what you called it so I could find something that looks french for my pathetic backyard – what can I say, it’s a work in progress.
    Say hi to those puppies of yours and have a fantastic weekend!
    xo~Tracie

  7. That was a great deal on stone. We have a large stone place nearby and I’ve never stopped by, I’ll have to remedy that.

    I understand how you feel about clutter too.

  8. Hi Brenda! Great stone…and what a deal..no wonder you accidentally drive by there.
    xo Lidy


Leave a Reply

Categories

