Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 29, 2008

Garden Bloggers Geography Project

This entry is my homework for The Garden Bloggers Geography Project. Jodi DeLong in Nova Scotia asked us garden bloggers to write about where we live. http://bloomingwriter.blogspot.com

So here goes. I live in the Piney Woods of Texas, which I’ve mentioned here before. My particular region of East Texas is Tyler, which is known around the world for its azaleas and roses. It is considered the rose capital of America, as we raise a lot of roses here commercially. The city of Tyler is host to both a Rose and an Azalea Festival every year.

The azaleas in my front yard are an apricot color. I have some in a side yard that are a blushing pink shade. I divided this particular bed, and the other half ended up in Walli’s yard last year. She mulched hers with coffee grounds, which I never got around to doing. Hope I don’t regret this lapse in judgment.

The front yard azaleas are beginning to flower now. I will run out and take a photo.

Img_2300

The buds are scattered through the bushes. Look closely.

Img_2301

In a few weeks, my entire cul-de-sac will be alive with azaleas. It is a feast for the eyes. And we aren’t even in the part of town called the Azalea District, the neighborhood lined with brick streets where they have the festival. It is real eye candy.

Tyler is about halfway between Dallas and Shreveport. About ninety minutes each way. We garden here most of the year, so we’re lucky gardeners! Wild ferns grow here. They sprout up all over the yard and grow about four to five feet tall. They come up all rolled in their little green nests and unfurl like a kite in the shadier regions of the yard.

We have lots of lakes and golf courses in Tyler, and the whole town is alive with active commercial development. We are also home to the Caldwell Zoo and the Discovery Science Place. This is a beautiful place to live, and I’ll probably never move away from here. I don’t think I could ever leave my yard and gardens!

Below is a photo of the side yard azalea bushes, which are just starting to put out little green buds.

Img_2304

These are the brilliant purple blossoms my pansies greeted me with today.

Img_2303 

And these are the first yellow flowers of the Carolina Jessamine vines that trail over my archway at my front gate.

Img_2302

If you ever come to Tyler, give me a shout and I’ll show you my gardens.

Responses

  1. Brenda, I’m so glad you decided to join in the geography project too! Yet another interesting place I’d like to visit one day! You’re certainly closer to enjoying a lot of spring pleasures than we are…

  2. Tyler roses are famous but I didn’t know about the azaleas, Brenda. I’m looking forward to some spectacular photos when they are in full bloom.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  3. Wow! Tyler, Texas! I’m originally from Arkansas, so your beautiful flower blooms are so energizing. Thank you for visiting my romantic porch. I hope you will feel free to drop by again real soon. xoRachel

  4. Like Annie, I’d heard about Tyler’s roses but didn’t know about the azaleas. Sure looks pretty at this time of year.

  5. Oh my, azaleas and rhododendrons are among my very favorite blooms — how lovely your town must look when all in bloom! Thanks for giving us a look at your beautiful part of the world.

  6. Enjoyed your post for the GBGP. The roses and azaleas sound just lovely. I’ve managed to kill several azalea plants so far. They are supposed to do well here in the PNW though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

