Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 28, 2008

Eastern Bluebird Nest

Img_2288_3

This is the home of a family of Eastern Bluebirds that comes to nest in my yard every year. I’m just going to tiptoe up to the birdhouse and sneak a quick peak inside. I’ve been curious ever since I saw them perched in the trees a few weeks back. Shhh!

Img_2289_2

A finely crafted nest. But no eggs. Had there been eggs, I bet, those bluebirds wouldn’t have let me get anywhere near it to take a look. I just hope I haven’t broken some law of nature by opening their door without their express permission. Do you suppose the Nature Police is going to come to my door and give me a ticket for breaking the law? Oh, I hope not. They might never return to visit me next year!

Img_2294_2

This is the coral bells and sedum plants I picked up at Blue Moon Gardens and haven’t planted yet. We’re still getting freezing temperatures some nights, so I am holding off putting them in the ground. I love sedums, as they have such a beautiful texture to their leaves and they hold up to drought-like conditions well.

Img_2292_2

This is another variety of sedum I planted at the base of my water pond last summer. I’m hoping it will really spread this year.

Img_2296_2

I believe the plant above is called black liriope. I picked it up at Blue Moon Gardens last fall. It is more expensive than the other liriopes; about ten dollars if I remember correctly. But it isn’t supposed to invade as quickly as the others do, and has shiny dark leaves that really stand out in the garden.

Img_2299_2

And this last photo is of a painting I found in Tuesday Morning last summer. It is actually painted on slate of some sort. It is a cheerful greeting hanging next to my front door.

Here is a quote I have on a bulletin board near my computer:

"Love the animals, love the plants, love everything. If you love everything, you will perceive the divine mystery in things." – Dostoyevsky

   

Responses

  1. Bluebirds and black liriope—I love ’em both. Your garden is looking spring-y.

  2. I love your bluebird box… I doubt they’ll have minded you opening it.

    It amazes me to hear that Liriope is invasive. I love the look of it, but I doubt it would survive here. The black colour is really attractive. It’s good to see the Coral Bells – I haven’t seen any since last summer!

    Your pansy painting is lovely…

  3. Love that quote at the end. It brought tears to my eyes. Yes, the more we extend the energy of love to all those and everything we “come in contact with” the better off we all we are. “Become the change you want to see in the world.” More easily said, than done, but worthy. Thank you for visiting my blog. Kathryn

  4. HI!! You are lucky you don’t have a bald spot on your head from nest peeping. I need to go to Tuesday morning too. Will you plan a trip here in October? I will be done with my part time work then and you can go up to the mountians with me on an Afghan hunting trip. And, we’ll talk!! Of Course….

  5. I’d love to see a bluebird in person! The black liriope is very dramatic – it seem to me there are different species of liriope, with the spicata more invasive than the muscari? My dwarf black ophiopogon grows so slowly that a little more invasiveness on its part might be welcome.

    Better wear a hard hat if you plan on peeking again, Brenda!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  6. What or were is Tuesday morning? If there are more paintings like yours, I think I need to go. I just love it! Pansies have been a favorite since I was a kid.
    Hope you’ll be able to plant soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

