Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 11, 2008

Rainy Days And Mondays

Img_2039_2These are my dog babies, Charlie Ross and Abigail Rose. Charlie was born on September 18, and Abigail on August 6, 2006.

A favorite quote is "Until one loves an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

Yesterday I worked all morning in the yard, clipping and cutting back plants for spring. Then we went to buy ten bags of gravel. I don’t know what happens to gravel. It just seems to disappear and has to be replenished from time to time. We also bought potting soil and mulch for the beds.

Then I got in my bathroom and took about half the wallpaper down. I teetered on the edge of the bathtub trying to reach the ceiling over the tub, as I couldn’t fit a ladder in it. When I finish getting the wallpaper down in that one, I will begin on the master bath. Remodeling a house seems to be a never-ending job. Got the kitchen out of the way. Now onward to the rest of the house. Hard to do when plants are emerging from winter sleep in the gardens, beckoning me to come outside.

I just got finished emptying all those bags of gravel. Four hundred pounds in all. The river rock is always so dirty. I end up spraying it down with the water hose when I’ve finished raking it into place. I have made my outdoor chores immensely easier than the previous years, however, by taking down shrubs and trees and fences and plants last spring. Now the east side yard is open and breezy and you can see the entire yard from the front gate.

Img_2054

Img_2056

The photo just above is the view once you go through the gazebo. The house just behind is Walli’s.

Img_2061

This is the back of the side yard. The far right is my pond. I think I’m going to take many of the plants now in pots and plant them in the ground now that we’re buying the garden home. That of course will free up pots for yet more plants!

It is cloudy outside, predicted to rain. Maybe that will finish getting the dirt off the river rock I just raked out.

A little garden decorating tip: In gravel beds and in the bed behind the pond, I sprinkle various colors of marbles. Not the round ones. The flatter ones you can buy in the craft stores by the small bag. I do this to make the gravel beds more interesting. And the best part is, at night the marbles shine in the moonlight. A series of mini-lights guiding your way through the yard. I also surround plants in large pots with these marbles to add color and as a sort of mulch to keep moisture in. 

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda,

    Thanks for dropping by to visit. I see we have something in common–a love for little dogs! Maybe you noticed I have two little Papillons? There are photos in my photo album of them–Sophie and Sarah.

    I’m off to find more photos of your dogs.

    Robin at Bumblebee


Leave a Reply

Categories

