Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 8, 2008

Blue Moon Gardens

Today Walli and I ran our Meals On Wheels route. We are Route #18, which is our own neighborhood. Our Tyler, Texas Meals On Wheels organization delivers 4,500 meals a day to local counties. That’s a lot of meals, and it takes a lot of people to make this happen. I commend them, each and every one, for their time and dedication.

Afterwards, Walli and I usually go get some lunch. We drove to Edom, Texas, not a far drive. It is a spot on the map with several well known restaurants. We drove there, of course, to visit Blue Moon Gardens. It is one of the most beautiful and inspirational "nurseries" I’ve ever visited. I say this because it is not your typical nursery. No long rows of plants on tables. It is a large piece of land with various vignettes of gardening spots. This "eye candy" quickly gets your brain humming about all sorts of new gardening possibilities to decorate your own yard. An old house on the property was turned into a gift shop where you can buy books and anything garden related. And it has the best herb plants to choose from I’ve seen around these parts. Next time I go, I’ll try and remember to take my camera. It is a true feast for the eyes if you are an avid gardener as both Walli and I are.

I’m seeing more species of birds feeding at my three feeders every day. There were several bright red cardinals chasing one another from bush to bush today in my yard. I suppose they were trying to establish territories for their cardinal mates. As you probably know, male and female cardinals travel together. The female is sort of plain, and not as pretty as the male.

Little George the Clownfish is thriving alone in the aquarium. But he has eaten much of the live plant George (from the fish store) brought out the other day when he brought Little George. The people at the fish store don’t think this is typical. Last night I placed some flaked fish food in the tank and watched. Little George finally did munch a bit on it. But he acted as though this was not what he was accustomed to. My outdoor fish just love the flaked food I feed them. Survivor and Spot devour it quickly.

My tulips are growing practically right before my eyes. I can’t wait for the blooms! Have a happy gardening weekend everyone!

 

Responses

  1. The sight of those bulbs coming is sure exciting!. And I would love to see pictures of this nirsery. I’m always looking for inspiration.

  2. I certainly wish it was a gardening weekend here. Unfortunately it is -27c (-18f) so we are staying indoors. With the wind chill, the temp. is well below that.

    The idea of wandering through a nursery sounds so appealing. The Blue Moon Gardens must be quite the lovely place to be.

    I’ve added your blog to my gardening links too. Have you signed up at http://www.blotanical.com? It’s a good place to list your blog.

  3. I certainly wish it was a gardening weekend here. Unfortunately it is -27c (-18f) so we are staying indoors. With the wind chill, the temp. is well below that.

    The idea of wandering through a nursery sounds so appealing. The Blue Moon Gardens must be quite the lovely place to be.

    I’ve added your blog to my gardening links too. Have you signed up at http://www.blotanical.com? It’s a good place to list your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

