Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 16, 2009

Adding To The Deck Thoughts

IMG_6198

Here is what Robert is working on now. Isn’t this adornment around the tree pretty? It will give the trees room to grow and a place for me to plant. Yes, Charlie Ross is sneaking a peak.

I’m as surprised as anyone. I just let him build and see what’s going to happen next.

IMG_6204

Of course now that we’re coming down the stretch, we’re pondering adding to the project…

See this area where the deck ends near the tools? Maybe extend the deck to build a gazebo?

IMG_6199 

A gazebo shaped in what I think is an octagon that Robert put around the trees? This is his thinking.

Oh yes, the tree we’ve been feverishly trying to kill. To eradicate the many shoots that have sprung up all over the yard…

I figured out what it was. Remember it was just in front of that building equipment. It was/is a black locust, and apparently hard to kill.

BIOLOGY & SPREAD
Black locust reproduces vigorously by root suckering and stump sprouting to form groves (or clones) of trees interconnected by a common fibrous root system.  Physical damage to roots and stems increases suckering and sprouting, making control difficult.  Black locust clones easily spread in quality and restorable natural areas. Although black locust produces abundant seeds, they seldom germinate.

MANAGEMENT OPTIONS
Mowing and burning are only effective in reducing the further spread of young shoots from a clone or parent tree.  To kill a clone, cutting alone is ineffective.  Herbicides applied to the stems or cut stumps spread into the root system and provide better control.  From mid-June to August hand sprayer application of 6.25% glyphosate solution (15:1 water:glyphosate) to stumps cut near the ground has been used by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Region V State Parks Resource Management Office.  Resprouting and suckering from dense clones may require follow up treatment after a few years*. 

*Because plants that appear to have been killed can resprout even several years after treatment with herbicide, annual monitoring should be conducted and follow-up treatments made as needed.

Anyone have experience with this horrid, despicable tree?

Responses

  1. Brenda, do you visit Mary, at Across the Pond? She has a fabulous screened gazebo, at the edge of her deck. I’d love to have one like that.

    You might be able to find her gazebo in her archives. She has delightful gardens!

    http://devondesigns-mary.blogspot.com/

    I’m loving the progress of your deck!

  2. That is lovely! I have trees growing up through our deck, but they are just holes in the deck that have to be enlarged every five years or so. Much prettier!

  3. I vote for a gazebo too. I have always wanted one! That would look awesome! The tree trimming is wonderful. Robert is a real craftsman! I am enjoying seeing his work! Thanks for keeping us up to date on the project!!!! It is just beautiful!!!!!

  4. Brenda,
    Robert is wonderful. You are so lucky to have a carpenter who gives such attention to detail.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  5. Can’t help you with your tree problem, but your deck is looking great! I think a gazebo will be perfect.

  6. I totally vote for that gazebo. Don’t think you’d ever regret it. Robert is doing such a good job. It’s gaw-geous!

    I’m no help with the tree problem. We have some that are quite invasive and we keep digging.

  7. Yes, add a gazbo Brenda! You will love it.
    The deck looks great–I love the bed around the tree. Robert did a great job!

  8. The only thing I know about Black Locust is that their lovely white springtime flowers are sweetly fragrant. I love the scent! I hope you are able to eradicate it, however, since an invasive plant is never a good thing.

  9. Love it Brenda, and a gazebo would add to your enjoyment once the mosquitoes show up! What an aggressive tree! The stems of Locust were used as small fencing at the Lurie Garden in Chicago…they sprouted! gail

  10. I LOVE the deck, you are going to enjoy it so much! Definitely, go for the gazebo, that would be the icing on the cake.

  11. Your deck is gorgeous! Your tree is hellatious!!! You poor woman, who would create such a beast as that! LOL I know I know…:) Maybe you should invest in a pesticide co. (you know, the kind that kills horrid black locus trees)

  12. Very nice deck.
    Hey, black grow by seed, too. I used to have them coming up in my flowerbeds everywhere.

    Our\’s was finally removed last winter by a tree crew. The ground the stump right out of the ground, and so far, nothing is coming up there.

    Your deck looks wonderful.

  13. Your deck is looking great! What a wonderful addition a gazebo would make–I can envision a wonderful spot to read or entertain–with Charlie Ross’ help, of course!

  14. Wonderful work on the deck! I like what he’s doing around the trees.

    Sorry…we have elms and junipers to deal with. I haven’t had to kill any locust trees, but I’m up to the challange! :)

  15. I really like the stuff around the trees, that looks sharp! I’ve never heard of those trees, good luck.
    Crap, I just tripped going into the kitchen for lunch, I hope I didn’t hurt my back again! DITHB!

  16. Your deck is looking fabulous. And I love the detailing Robert is doing around the trees. And yes, yes, yes to the gazebo. But then we aren’t paying for it. lol.

  17. Beautiful deck! I love the want the trees are trimmed and included in the deck.

    I have some weeds that grow the same way as your black locust. They are woody too!

  18. Your deck is looking great! My hubby is from Fort Worth and his mom lives in Texarkana. Wonderful state!

  19. It looks like warm house, with great deck. Thanks for share. nice picture also. I like it. I hope you visiting my blog and share some information

  20. The deck is absolutely gorgeous, and a gazebo would be perfect. We have a gazebo which I call the pergola, plus a matching arbor down in the corner of the place, and I really like the fact that they reflect each other in terms of form. It gives the yard structure and makes the different areas relate to each other. So an octagonal gazebo would be perfect as it would reflect shapes already present in the deck.

    Black locusts we don’t have, but honey locusts we do, and you should thank your lucky stars you don’t. They have to be the most well armored tree in the world, and just as difficult to kill as the black locust with tire potential tire damage for your tractors and other tools to boot.

  21. Oh a gazebo sounds like a lovely idea Brenda. Won’t that be a nice spot to sit & enjoy the garden. :)

  22. Your deck has turned out absolutely stunning!

  23. Brenda, absolutely gorgeous. Can’t wait to see it stained. Robert is the MAN. Is he single and available? :) By the way, I vote yes for a screened gazebo, and I’ll have gazebo envy once you get it done!

  24. Glad for your blog, Brenda–so inspiring to me today! Robert is a true artist! We planted black locust on the west side of our land in OK, to control erosion on a hill. Worked. I’ve always thought them rather pretty trees. Don’t we wish we could be as tough?
    xxxooo


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

