Posted by: Brenda Kula | June 11, 2009

Basic Deck Floor Finished

IMG_5974

Well, here’s the basic shape of the deck. Not quite finished. Not stained. But your get the idea. There’s Abi with sand from the electrical saw on her whiskers. And Clyde in the background. Poor Clyde has been being taunted of late by a group of mockingbirds. They better not hurt my handsome boy!

One problem. The tree stump grinder man has yet to come calling. So we have tiny trees growing through the deck.

IMG_5983

I don’t know how I’m going to furnish this deck yet. Probably with a lot of what I already have. Not to that point yet. But every time I go out there, my mind gets busy decorating.

IMG_5976

I love how Robert took the wood design in all directions. Gave it quite a personality of its own.

IMG_5975

Look, the four o’clocks are blooming up by the front gate arbor!

IMG_6031

Responses

  1. The deck is wonderful…how fortunate you are! Robert really does great work.

    I didn’t grow any four o’clocks this year, but they are one of my favorites.

  2. Oh Brenda! That porch is GORGEOUS!!!! I love how the wood planks go in different directions like puzzle pieces. I also love the cut out for the tree. I was thinking you could take a pot and cut out the bottom and fit it around the tree trunk to give the illusion that it is in a pot.
    I would be itching to decorate that beautiful deck! Of course I am itching to get at my own. I have sooo much ahead of me to do but that makes it all the more exciting. Yes?

  3. Its absolutely gorgeous, Robert is a magician with wood!!!!!

  4. Your new deck is awesome!! Robert is a treasure!
    I really like how he connected the house to the wall (?)! You have a whole new room now!
    Outstanding carpentry!

  5. Your deck is awesome! It reminds me of the gardens in Savannah. Lots of them went all the way to the house next to them. Some of them even painted the wall on the other side. It’s going to be just wonderful.

  6. Wow he did a terrific job! Love all the patterns in the wood. Don’t know about Texas but all the home builders (and deck builders) where I live only use Penofin on decks, that’s the only thing we’ve ever used. Robert would know I’m sure.

    Did you see the list of 10 harmful (toxic) plants to pets at my blog? I thought of you since you have so many beautiful flowers and always have the dogs and cat outside with you. Rule of thumb–the more beautiful the plant the more toxic it is to a pet.

  7. Wow, Wow, Wow!! That is some deck!! It will be so much fun to get it decorated, arranging lots of collections of pretty pots filled with all kinds of wonderful plants! LUCKY!! xo, suzy

  8. Brenda that is beautiful! I am so happy for you! I know you will love this so much!!! Robert did a fantastic job on the deck and it will be so fun to have it for outdoor dinners or morning coffee or whatever you please!!!

  9. Why it is an absolute outdoor living room. I’d have to move my television outside then I’d never come in!

  10. This is awesome Brenda! What are you going to plant around the tree? Wish you could find those red adirondack chairs for the deck!

  11. It is looking wonderful! I know that you will decorate it up perfectly.
    Hugs,
    Penny

  12. It’s wonderful seeing your new deck take shape, Brenda. It’s going to be a beautiful addition!

  13. What a wonderful new “room”! Just in time for summer, too.

    I thought for a minute there was a ghost in your window on the top photo! Then further down I could tell it was a television set. lol

  14. Looks fabulous Brenda! I love the tree growing through the deck. My last house had a deck with a tree in it – you’ll love the shade, especially as hot as it gets in your neck of the woods!

  15. Lookin’ good, Brenda … hope you are healing and your leg looking as good as your deck!

  16. your deck is going to be so much fun to use. what a great outdoor space.

  17. It’s a great looking deck Brenda…and you are going to have a lot of fun decorating it! How is the leg? gail

  18. It is coming out so good…I really can’t wait to see how you decorate it! Hope you are enjoying the weekend.
    ♥, Susan

  19. Oh, Brenda! I’m so excited for you! It’s absolutely gorgeous!!! I love the way the wood goes in the different directions. You are going to have so much fun decorating it! Have a great weekend! Patti

  20. Brenda, it’s just gorgeous! Robert is an artist. And it looks like Clyde has given his approval!
    Diane

  21. Oh your deck is gorgeous Brenda, I love the pattern Robert did & the varying shades on the unstained wood too. Are you going to clearcoat it or stain it?

  22. And now your fun begins…well, continues and Robert can rest from the heat. Looks great!

  23. Brenda,

    I love your new deck and especially that it goes off in all directions. Wish I was sitting on that pink rocker.

    Hugs,
    Gretchen

  24. I love it. It fits so perfectly with the house. I see the kitty has to be one of the first to try it out;) Large enough to entertain and BBQ for a lot of friends.
    Marnie

  25. Looks great. I, too, like the way the wood planks are placed. I can’t wait to see how you furnish it. I know it will look spectacular.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  26. Oh! Your new deck is fantastic. I just want to come over and sit a spell once it’s finished. I just know you’ll decorate it to the max and it will look even better with your containers and chairs. Where is the stump grinder anyway?~~Dee

  27. I personally desired to share this unique blog, “Basic
    Deck Floor Finished « View From The Pines” with my best
    pals on facebook .com. I actuallybasically wished to
    distributed ur outstanding publishing! Thanks, Michelle

  28. Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe everything
    is presented on net?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

